Tamale Pie Pronto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2015
Best use of leftovers!!! I lined my pan wth lefotover corm muffins crushed. Then used leftover diced pork loin, frozen corn, and salsa with onions , white beans, tomatoes. Added leftover polenta and sliced it on top then cheese... This could be made with chicken turkey pork or ground beef. I'm saving this one!!! Happy mom
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy Hunter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
yummy but we don't have bisquits or jiffy cornbread mix here in France so, I just made some quick-cook polenta instead and upped the seasoning with more garlic and chillies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
Very tasty. Made it in large muffin tins and it came out great. (just be sure not to overfill as biscuit on bottom will expand) Note to self: Use 2 teaspoons cumin instead of chili powder, 2 lb ground beef, one pack of sazon to season meat while cooking, sofrito (about 4 Tbs.) instead of ketchup and rotel in place of diced tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
This was soooo YUMMY!! I did make a few changes but nothing to crazy it would alter it all that much: I made the ground beef added some spices, added canned black beans ( instead of Chili... cause I did not have any ) canned corn and Rotel tomatoes with green chillis ( instead of the chopped tomatoes ) and still added the canned tomatoe sauce. I did not add the biscuits as bottom crust I added it as a Top crust, ( cause honestly I did not read it correctly and was cooking in a hurry) But it was pretty close to one of the best casserole dishes I have ever made!! maybe next time I'll make it as it says to, Chilli beans sound yummy too! Kids love it!! with a dollop of Sour cream Oh So Good!! KEEPER!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by a-lo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monrovia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
Very good!! I'll be making this again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianna Brown-Brenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Moline, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
Biscuits were still doughy after 25 minutes, but cheese was browned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
This was really good! I did sub 2 boxes of Jiffy Cornbread mix (prepared as per box) for the biscuits. I used Green Giant Mexican Style corn. I also added chopped chili peppers,cumin, and garlic powder to the recipe, kept everything else as is. Def will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
Very good! I used ground turkey, added carrots, and Jiffy cornbread mix(instead of biscuit dough)on top, no cheese. Seasoned with cumin and chili powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
Tasty dish and quick to make. I did make some changes as I wanted more of an Italian-style dish. Check out my custom version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ava Flavah!

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
Made this for dinner tonight, and it was great! Nothing fancy, but super quick and easy...definitely good on a cold night (the few we have in Florida!). I varied just a little bit after reading other reviews - substituted a can of diced tomatoes and green chiles for the chopped tomatoes, added a little garlic powder, cumin, and a touch of cayenne. We will most definitely be keeping this recipe on hand, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren Morris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Slocomb, Alabama, USA
Living In: Bonifay, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Tamale Pie

See the simple secret to this 5-star ground beef casserole.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Burrito Pie

This spicy casserole features layers of seasoned beef, beans, and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States