Tamale Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
I think it's delicious. I followed the other reviewers, and changed it a bit, or a lot, I suppose. I used the beef, tomatoes, and olives, and added some chile powder and Italian seasoning to the ground beef, a small can of enchilada sauce, a can of black beans, a handful of seeded and chopped serrano peppers, and frozen corn instead of creamed. I made a cornbread topping, but added a few teaspoons of cornmeal to the filling to help thicken it, and baked it according to directions. It's very tasty and I will take it to my next potluck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by William

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Clearlake, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
I really enjoyed this recipe, but I changed it up a good deal. I added an extra clove of garlic, garlic powder, about two tablespoons of cumin, good deal of salt and pepper, as it was very flat without those, kidney beans instead of black beans, sriracha, and I made cornbread from a mix and poured it over the mixture rather than blending it all in. My family loved it and told me to save the recipe as they would love to have it agin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SugarSpice23
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
My family really loved this dish. I will be making it more often. The only thing I did different was add half a package of taco seasoning when cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
My family really liked this recipe I used whole kernel and thick and chunky salsa, I used Jiffy cornbread mix and put it on top only, I also put in 2 packages of taco seasoning, I will use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
It was pretty good but I looked at the reviews and made quite a few changes. I add: a can of black beans drained and rinsed 1 cup of frozen corn and not the creamed corn 2 teaspoons cumin salt a can of chiles Then I made up a recipe of cornbread and spooned it over the mixture. Pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
This recipe is similar to one our family has used for years. But we up the flavor by adding salt, pepper, and enough chili powder to give it a little bite. Also, we use whole kernel canned or frozen corn instead of creamed corn for improved texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tillamook, Oregon, USA
Living In: Oxnard, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
The pie does not come out looking like the picture. The cornmeal should make a topping not a mush. There is no seasoning listed in the recipe so I had to add spices to give it a Mexican flavor. I was able to make it palatable but I would not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
It would have been much better if the cornbread was on the top or bottom, but not mixed in
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelli Bruce- Aiken

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
Yum! This is delicious. Only changes I made were to use ground turkey and fresh chopped tomatoes instead of canned. Maybe that's why it isnt mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Tamale Pie

See the simple secret to this 5-star ground beef casserole.

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States