Tamale Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
Just made this last night and it was great! Used diced white onion and 1 can of chili w/beans cause that's what I had. One good tip from another reviewer...definitely go with a 3 quart dish, this makes a lot. Some spanish rice as a side was perfect. My goal for a couple of weeks is to make something with what I have already so, success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spolley

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Evansville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
This was really quick, easy and a family pleaser. I used refrigerated tamales from Costco and added sautéed chopped onions, canned corn and sliced olives. I loved the chili as a sauce. Really yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
This is very similar to the recipe on the can of tamales. I use chopped onions rather than green onions. Love this dish and it is so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winterset, Iowa, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
I prepared per recipe , I served chopped cilantro, chopped green onions, diced tomatoes and sour cream on the side. Yummy! With the sides piled on top gave dish a fresh taste, No one could ever guess it was all canned goods. We'll just keep the canned part a secret, and let them think we slaved in the kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
Everyone in the family enjoyed it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cecil
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
I will definitely be making this again,but next time I will try it with the beans in the chili and kick up the flavor some by adding some jalapenos cause I like heat.I would also like to try it with the frozen tamales after reading some of the other reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cecil

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
spoiler alert... 2 quart casserole dish was too small. I even packed the ingredients down and had to leave out an entire can of chili and one cup of the tortilla chips. I'd go with a 3 quart dish next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
I added chopped onion and 2 cans of green Chili's. I also used fresh Tamales laid in the bottom of a casserole dish but cut into bite sized squares. This recipe is very easy and quite tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Young Peterson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
I grew up on this. Not a gourmet item folks!!! Good old childhood comfort food so you haters need to lighten the heck up. If you want authentic tamales- spend then time making them. We love this on a cold winter night with some extra chips, a good salad, and maybe a beer :). Rich, heavy, old fashioned good stuff. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
Just finished this recipe for dinner turned out pretty awesome I did make some changes since I come from a fam of big eaters I uosed 4 cans of tamales on top I added corn cilantro onions and lime juice on top of that cheese and 2 cans of Chilli with the beans. More onions and jalapenos the chips and before baking I squirted them with more lime... after 25 min I added more cheese green onion and olives on top... really easy dish.... I'd make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Livingdedgurl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Tamale Pie

See the simple secret to this 5-star ground beef casserole.

Easy Mexican Casserole

See how to make an easy, tasty Mexican casserole.

Taco Casserole

This cheesy, family favorite is the perfect weeknight casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States