Tamale Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 20, 2012
Disappointing. No tamale taste here...nothin remotely "tamale-ish in this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
This recipe was okay. I will say you have to eyeball the texture. I put almost another whole cup of corn meal and a half teaspoon of baking powder to get it to the firm texture that I desired. Also, I added a little more seasoning. You really have to play this recipe by ear; know your oven and desired outcome and work from there. Overall, it was pretty tasty and not a total waste of time. An easier way may be to buy a bland box of cornbread mix, dump the other ingredients in and bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
Tasty when freshly out of the oven. Not pleasing to the eye. Does not taste good re-heated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Masa Bamm

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
I thought it was a good and easy recipe. A hit with my son-there weren't too many leftovers! I used ground chicken instead (only because I don't eat much beef) and substituted a 14 oz can of diced tomatoes with the green chiles all ready in it-I halved the recipe. In reference to one reviewer's response that it was mushy, I just added a few extra tablespoons of corn meal and cooked it a bit longer. No problem the texture was great. Thanks for sharing such a great dinner idea- definitely will be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by oregonrose

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
Super easy and delicious! Cooked up quickly and was not too liquidy, which I was worried about. I used pork instead of beef and used Mexican Cojito cheese which was a great addition I thought. I tripled the amount of jalapeno pepers because we like spice and it still wasn't really spicy at all.. I think because they cook in with the pork and lost some heat. I think next time I won't cook them with the pork and see if that helps. Also I think black beans and more tomatoes could be used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
I made this exactly as the recipe called for. I was very underwhelmed. The taste was ok, not amazing or anything. The problem was the looks of the thing, and the texture. The texture was mushy, maybe less liquid would help. But the looks of it were the drawback. After the piece I cut out fell apart into pieces, it looked like a pile of glop. I wanted to like the concept, but I don't think this is something that I'll be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rebecca

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
SO good!! Big hit and provided excellent lunch leftovers!! I mixed in 1/2 cup of my homemade salsa as well as serving with salsa and sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tarita2004

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dillon, Montana, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
I usually make a few changes to recipes to lighten them up. I made this one EXACTLY as the directions indicate and it was fabulous! So tasty and so different from anything I've made or tasted before. I will definitely be making this one again. Thanks for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
This was a hit for my family. I went pretty much by recipe except I used fresh tomatoes instead of canned because i just dont eat canned food. I also used a quarter of the the jalepeno thinking it was going to burn like fire- but it didnt and the flavor went right into the food and really didnt even notice it after it was done. IT WAS EXCELLENT and definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States