Talerine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
This is a great base recipe to use up odds and ends in your fridge. I added mushrooms, carrots, and peppers. Also added some sour cream to the sauce before baking. Followed advice of reviewers and parboiled the egg noodles so they didn't get mushy and only added a small amount of beef broth instead of water. Loved the corn in this. If I make this again I will make it the same way but add the optional black olives if I have them on hand. Served with a green salad with creamy Italian dressing and garlic bread. Great comfort food for a cold autumn evening!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MI$$DREA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
A pretty good meal to throw together quickly on a busy night. I added fresh minced garlic to the meat, cooked the noodles separately and then combined and put in the oven. It was pretty good, but a little peppery for my taste. Will reduce the salt and pepper next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
Kinda tasted like hamburger helper...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
I have always loved this recipe. I think the only difference between Talerine and Marzetti is the corn. Am I right? Alisbel
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
This was OK for us. I used petite diced tomatoes instead of stewed. I thought 1 tablespoon of salt seemed like way too much so I only used 1 teaspoon and 1/2 teaspoon of pepper. We thought it was more then enough of each. I used a 13 ounce box of dreamfield pasta. I added two cups of water and two cups of beef broth and I didn't drain it. We all ate it but it isn't something I would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
Talerine Casserole Recipe circa 1962 Ohio Ingredients: 1 12 oz bag of broad egg noodles 1 pound of ground beef 1 10 3/4 oz can of Campbell's condensed tomato soup 1 15 1/4 oz can of Del Monte's whole kernel corn 1 8 oz bag of shredded cheddar cheese sharp yellow = 2 cups 1 2.8 oz can of French's french fried onions original salt and pepper Directions: *prepare two hours in advance so casserole can sit in refrigerator before warming boil noodles in pot till done and strain in colander heavily season ground beef with salt and pepper and brown in skillet add can of condensed soup to skillet drain can of corn in colander add drained corn to skillet mixture and simmer till well done (a dark red) put cooked noodles in casserole pan (aluminum or glass) or glass bowl drain skillet mixture in colander to remove excess liquids add skillet mixture to cooked noodles and mix well cover top of casserole mixture with shredded cheddar cheese cover top of cheese with french fried onion bits let casserole sit in refrigerator for two hours preheat oven to 350 degrees heat casserole until cheese melts and the inner mixture is warm (about 20-35 minutes)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
was very good.... my wife and i loved it and it was so easy to make as well, thank you for a great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wormosa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Oregon, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
This was pretty good but could use more spice. It was bland. Very simple to make. My kiddos loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seymour, Texas, USA
Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
Like some other reviewers, I didn't taste what all the fuss was about. It was simple and quick, but pretty bland. It needs a lot of seasoning or something to bring it up a notch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bridgewater, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
Sorry, but I didn't think this recipe was all that. It is a very average casserole dish. Nothing special, very forgettable. I won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Rader

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hesperia, California, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Goulash Supreme

Macaroni simmers with ground beef and onions in a spicy tomato sauce.

Halloween Bloody Baked Rats

These creepy-cute mini meatloaves are spooktacular for Halloween dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States