Take The Night Off Slow Cooker Pineapple Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
We love this recipe! We've made it for years. The only thing I do differently is that I combine all of the stuff, whisk it together, and pour the "sauce" over the chicken and pineapple. I prefer to use skinless, boneless thighs in the crockpot (it stays moister). I have also made it using Chinese 5 Spice instead of just the ginger and it is super yum that way as well!! We LOVE the pineapple so I drain and add an extra can!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
For some reason, my chicken came out dry. Maybe I left it in too long? There was plenty of juice in the pot (doubled the recipe for sauce). But flavor wise it was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
My 13 y.o. turned his nose up at this, which is unusual. I thought it was okay but I think in the future I will go back to stir fry for my Chinese main courses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Memphis Dad

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
This was really, really good and so easy to put together. The only changes that I made were to decrease the brown sugar to two tablespoons, the ginger to 1 teaspoon and I added one cup of chicken broth. I cooked the chicken from frozen for four hours on high and it was perfect. Thanks so much for sharing Nanny and I will be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bren
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RideFree216
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
Really good dish. Next time I would cut back on the sugar. I used boneless chicken breast. 4 hours on low. Turned out really well. I also added a little Asian sesame salad dressing, teriyaki marinade, Caribbean jerk marinade, and red pepper flakes. I also used a little flour to thicken the sauce. Will def be having this dish again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
I followed the recipe to the t ingredients wise. I couldn't find bone in chicken breast the first time I made it. So I used chicken thighs that are bone in. Now I'm making it again but I used a bigger can of pineapple cause personally I wanted more pineapple the first time. Using chicken thighs again with bone in. They stayed tender. The chicken thighs were so tender last time they fell off the bone. Its good with white rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lacie Baldwin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
i only gave it 4 stars because I altered the cooking method. I used a stovetop and cubed and dredged my chicken in addition to letting the sauce reduce and added cornstarch and applications cider vinegar fr that extra kick. after that its 5 stars to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
This turned out well and nothing was wrong, but it was very mild/almost bland. I shredded the chicken and added onion, garlic, bell pepper, and more pineapple in the last two hours of cooking. If I made it again, I'd want to add more spices and more pineapple as well. Again - good recipe, just not that exciting for our tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
potatoes would be a good addition or serve over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
Fantastic but next time I'll do it on the stove so I can thicken the sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker Lemon Garlic Chicken

Meet the perfect weeknight one-pot chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker Butter Chicken

Chicken simmers with Indian spices in a creamy coconut milk and yogurt sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States