Take-Out Fake-Out Pollo Con Crema Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
This is my recipe and I have to say something about the amount of liquid in this recipe. When I order this at my favorite mexican resteraunt, the consistancy is about the same as my recipe, with extra "sauce". The reason I think this is awesome is because when I wrap my filling in my tortillas, I like to dip my tortilla in the extra sauce. OR, I like to be all ghetto and save the leftover sauce and mix it with my Take-Out Fake-Out Mexican Rice and either eat it as is or wrap THAT in a tortilla. Either way, I make it that way for that reason just because the recipe is so good that I don't want to waste one drop of it's awesomeness. No, I'm not being conceited, it's just really that good. You've got to take my word on that. Or just make it for yourself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
This was a serious disappointment. I was thinking about it all day and once I tried it, I realized what I was thinking was absolutely true. This would be bland and entirely too much liquid to use for rolled tacos. Maybe if you reduce the liquids some flavor would come through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockaway, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
This was DELICIOUS! It's going to be a regular in our house from here on out! The only changes I made was that I used fresh Anaheim chili and I used Chipotle hot sauce. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie Hensley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roseburg, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
My family loves this recipe. Made it exactly as the recipe states and it was gobbled up by both children and adults alike! And I love how economical it is too! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherri Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by Lan D
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
I made this the other night and my husband and I are HUGE fans! I was feeling a tad lazy that night so I bought a rotesserie chicken and peeled it apart instead of having cubes. I only let it simmer for about 10 minutes because I did not want the cream to burn. I really love creole seasoning with creamy sauces so I put a couple of shakes into the pot too. I a couple of spoonfuls of the yumminess on a semi homemade tortilla (the raw ones in the refrigerated section) on a bed of baby spinach and it was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lan D

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
I ate Pollo Con Crema at the 3 Margaritas restuarant in Colorado and had to try making it myselft. I am so excited that this recipe turned out exactly like it! Wonderful! I serve it with mexican rice and warm tortillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
This was awesome! Anyone that says it isn't doesn't know what they are taking about! It tasted exactly like I picked up take out from the Mexican restaurant down the street. My husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
My mom made this tonight, using half and half instead of heavy cream... SUPER good! :) Had it with brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruthie Aase

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Minnesota, USA
Living In: La Crosse, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
made this for my girls at work. had to sub tomato paste for ketchup and evap milk for heavy cream ( something i learned from the recipe author actually) and this was so good. ive never had the authemtic kind so i cant compare but they loved this and asked for seconds. it served 6 women and 2 staff members with some leftovers. we did actually put some salsa verde on these and some people opted cheddar and sour cream to top them with but i ate mine as is and didnt want to add anything. thank you sarah.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soupisgoodfood33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
This sounds so much like my fave dish the Pollo Loco from my fave Mex Grill. They add lots of poblano peppers in strips along with onion in strips and a few chunks of fresh jalopeno with the sliced mushrooms. Its so good I could drink the sauce:) I dont eat mine with tortilla's but over rice or plain if I am going low carb. But if you eat with tortilla everyone knows that you fork the meat and veggies into the tortilla and then dip in the sauce or drizzle the sauce over rice...sillies. Also good with lime margaritta's;) Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pollo Fajitas

See how to make simple chicken fajitas with a zesty marinade.

Chicken Fettuccini Alfredo

See how to make a rich and creamy chicken Alfredo.

Easy Indian Butter Chicken

This creamy, classic Indian restaurant dish is easy to make at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States