Take-Out Fake-Out Pollo Con Crema Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
This sounds so much like my fave dish the Pollo Loco from my fave Mex Grill. They add lots of poblano peppers in strips along with onion in strips and a few chunks of fresh jalopeno with the sliced mushrooms. Its so good I could drink the sauce:) I dont eat mine with tortilla's but over rice or plain if I am going low carb. But if you eat with tortilla everyone knows that you fork the meat and veggies into the tortilla and then dip in the sauce or drizzle the sauce over rice...sillies. Also good with lime margaritta's;) Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
I LOVE this recipe. I usually add some mozzarella cheese because my family and I have always loved white cheese sauces. It makes for some fun stringy sauce. This last time I made it, I put in some lime juice, just about 3 good squeezes from the bottle. I also didn't have all of the heavy cream, so I added a bit more sour cream till the consistancy seemed right. Mmm mmm mmm! My family of 4 ate nearly the whole 12 servings...so good with salsa and chips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by destyni

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
I didn't have boneless skinless breasts so I used bone in chicken thighs that I removed the skin from. It obviously took longer to cook these, but other than that, I didn't make any changes. My family all loved this. The only complaint one son had was that it was so creamy that he chose to shred the tortilla and place it on top rather than try to roll it up! Not a bad thing, much prefer creamy chicken to dried out chicken recipes! Thanks, Sarah!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
This is my recipe and I have to say something about the amount of liquid in this recipe. When I order this at my favorite mexican resteraunt, the consistancy is about the same as my recipe, with extra "sauce". The reason I think this is awesome is because when I wrap my filling in my tortillas, I like to dip my tortilla in the extra sauce. OR, I like to be all ghetto and save the leftover sauce and mix it with my Take-Out Fake-Out Mexican Rice and either eat it as is or wrap THAT in a tortilla. Either way, I make it that way for that reason just because the recipe is so good that I don't want to waste one drop of it's awesomeness. No, I'm not being conceited, it's just really that good. You've got to take my word on that. Or just make it for yourself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
This was awesome! Anyone that says it isn't doesn't know what they are taking about! It tasted exactly like I picked up take out from the Mexican restaurant down the street. My husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
made this for my girls at work. had to sub tomato paste for ketchup and evap milk for heavy cream ( something i learned from the recipe author actually) and this was so good. ive never had the authemtic kind so i cant compare but they loved this and asked for seconds. it served 6 women and 2 staff members with some leftovers. we did actually put some salsa verde on these and some people opted cheddar and sour cream to top them with but i ate mine as is and didnt want to add anything. thank you sarah.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soupisgoodfood33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
This was a serious disappointment. I was thinking about it all day and once I tried it, I realized what I was thinking was absolutely true. This would be bland and entirely too much liquid to use for rolled tacos. Maybe if you reduce the liquids some flavor would come through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockaway, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
This was wonderful! I think the chicken breasts I used must have been on the small side- because there was a lot of sauce, and could have used more chicken. I didn't have any dried anaheim or Californnia chiles, so I used chopped green chiles. I also put the filling in a corn tortilla instead. It was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
My mom made this tonight, using half and half instead of heavy cream... SUPER good! :) Had it with brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruthie Aase

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Minnesota, USA
Living In: La Crosse, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
Made this for dinner tonight with mexican rice. It was SO delicious! My husband took a couple of bites and said, "We're definitely going to have to add this to our list of favorite dinners!" Our toddler gobbled it up even faster than we did! Thank you for this awesome recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ana C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mingo Junction, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hammondsville, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pollo Fajitas

See how to make simple chicken fajitas with a zesty marinade.

Chicken Fettuccini Alfredo

See how to make a rich and creamy chicken Alfredo.

Easy Indian Butter Chicken

This creamy, classic Indian restaurant dish is easy to make at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States