Take-Out Fake-Out Pollo Con Crema Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
This was.... Bland to say the least. It reminded us of a frozen microwaveable meal. It is kind of arrogant of the submitter to very matter of factly state just how good this recipe is, when everyone has different taste and what may be good for one person may be bad for another. It was thumbs down from everyone in our house. The ketchup was just very out there. I grew up with real Mexican food and this is just not it. I guess you can slap a tortilla and cumin on any meal and call it Mexican food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
This recipe is delish! I just spiced it up a little more with extra hot sauce and chipotle with adobo... YUM :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2014
We liked this a great deal. It makes alot, but there was no trouble using up the excess sauce. We did make a few substitutions based on what we had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
Used 6 chicken breasts instead of 4 because of amount of sauce for leftovers. This was better than our fav Mexican Restaurant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
I worked at a Mexican restaurant for years, and maybe this was just different from what I was used to... I found the cumin in this recipe to be overwhelming and the sauce was lacking that extra something that makes you say, "mmmm." At the restaurant, they made their pollo con crema with wonderful homemade enchilada sauce and some sour cream (about 2 parts enchilada sauce to 1 part sour cream). Maybe it's just what I'm used to, but that would be a heck of a lot easier and tastier (using canned enchilada sauce, of course!) :P
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
So good! My boyfriend eyed the finished product doubtfully, but gobbled up every bite he was served. It even made for good leftovers. I'll be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MBIF

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
Really good, authentic recipe. My husband in particular loved this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Klamath Falls, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
The recipe was easy to follow, but turned out pretty blah tasting for my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: John Day, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
Loved it. Family loved it. Better than the pollo con crema at the neighborhood Mexican restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
This sounds so much like my fave dish the Pollo Loco from my fave Mex Grill. They add lots of poblano peppers in strips along with onion in strips and a few chunks of fresh jalopeno with the sliced mushrooms. Its so good I could drink the sauce:) I dont eat mine with tortilla's but over rice or plain if I am going low carb. But if you eat with tortilla everyone knows that you fork the meat and veggies into the tortilla and then dip in the sauce or drizzle the sauce over rice...sillies. Also good with lime margaritta's;) Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pollo Fajitas

See how to make simple chicken fajitas with a zesty marinade.

Chicken Fettuccini Alfredo

See how to make a rich and creamy chicken Alfredo.

Easy Indian Butter Chicken

This creamy, classic Indian restaurant dish is easy to make at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States