Taiwanese-Style Three Cup Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
My Taiwanese college roomie used to make authentic 3 Cup Chicken and this is darn close.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWRDPRINCESS

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
I really wanted to love this. I love chicken, soy sauce, sesame oil (2T), ginger, garlic, basil, sherry. Why wouldn't I?! ... I don't know either. :( It was salty - & not very flavorful. The directions are funky, too. Instead, I sauteed the garlic a bit, browned the chicken then added the sauce ingredients. No way was that going to reduce in twenty minutes & it was salty before reduction. That adding the quarter cup of water? So it takes longer to reduce, I guess. I'll play with the leftovers, but I think the recipe needs major changes to be good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
The taste is pretty good except it was too salty. I used chicken wings instead of thigh meat and chopped it into smaller pieces. It took longer to reduce the sauce to 1/4 cup so I turned up the heat to medium-high.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
I had actually had this dish at a Tiwanese restaurant in Milian, Italy and loved it. When making it at home I mixed some five spice powder with some flour and dredged the chicken in it before adding it to the skillet to make it a bit crisper on the outside. I also used a lot of sliced ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northfield, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
Agree with other reviewers that you need more basil, less sesame oil, and either less soy sauce or a lighter one. It has similar taste to the restaurant dish, but looks less appealing because it looks so much darker. This maybe improved with less soy sauce. Also restaurants tend to use chicken on bone, so that may be a missing element too. If I try again, I may use stew longer with chicken thighs with bone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
This is a pretty good recipe. Like others, I've made a few modifications of my own: 1) reduced the amount of soy sauce to just 1/4 cup, 2) substituted the dry sherry with Chinese cooking wine, 3) reduced amount of sesame oil to just 3 tablespoons, and 4) added a full cup of basil leaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
It's pretty good if you don't have an Asian market nearby, but I recently found another recipe I like better, which uses grated ginger, shaoxing wine instead of sherry, a small amount of dark sesame oil (for flavor) in addition to the light, and a darker, thicker soy sauce called kecap manis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
I tried this chicken in Taiwanese restaurant before, therefore I decided to DIY it at home. By using this recipe the cooking result is better than what we get locally. I put in 50g of Thai basir leaf, it really give the dish a slight peppery kick. Home grown basil leaf is always taste the best and it can be grown effortlessly by sticking stem into soil. Lisa
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
Very good. I salted the chicken prior to browning, and omitted the water and chilies. I did add some red pepper flakes but not too much because of my two young children. I think it would have been even better if I'd had Thai sweet basil rather then regular, but I used what I had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
This had great flavor. I didn't have enough Thai basil, and I wish I would have because I think more is better. It did not cook down to 1/4 cup as the recipe says... not sure how that can happen in 20 min with 1/2 cup oil. (I used mostly veggie oil, just a Tb or so of sesame - too overpowering for my taste). I liked the extra sauce though. I made rice noodles, and the extra sauce was good on them. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FruitSaladYummyYummy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

General Tsao's Chicken II

Mouthwatering fried chicken in a slightly sweet and spicy sauce.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States