Taiwanese Fried Tofu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by cinnybear
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
This reminds me of what my mom used to make me when I was younger (only better, sorry mom!) Reduce the soy sauce a tad just to cut down on the saltiness. You can also use firm tofu..just be sure to drain it ahead of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orinda, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
From the first time cooking it, it's always been a hit. And to date, I've cooked it just about twice a month! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vicci

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tinton Falls, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gooberette
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2006
My husband and I LOVED this recipe!!! This is some of the best tofu that I have ever had!!! I wouldn't change a thing about this recipe. We will be making this a lot!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brigham City, Utah, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Photo by LadyWilCook
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2007
I really love this recipe. Especially great on top of white rice. I originally sent in a 5 star review on this recipe, using Balsamic Vinegar since I couldn't find Chinese Black Vinegar. Now, thanks to my bestfriend, who sent me a bottle of Chinese Black Vinegar over the holidays, I find that the Chinese Black Vinegar made a great diffence in appearance and in taste. I would make this recipe again and again using the Chinese Black Vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2007
I've tried to cook tofu so many ways, but can never get restaurant quality tasting tofu dishes. THIS dish is the BEST I've ever had!!! I couldn't find the Chinese black vinegar, but found black bean sauce as others had suggested which was excellent with this dish. I also had trouble getting the tofu to 'brown' even after cooking it for over 20 minutes. I finally gave up and left it soft and white, but it was still delicious. THANKS SO MUCH!!! Will make this often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DakotaSMS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2007
This dish was really delicious. Will serve again. As suggested, I did brown my tofu first. I also used the liquid ingredients to make fried rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
My husband and I loved this recipe. It is really tasty I usually serve it with rice and a quick veggie stir fry. I found the black vinegar at a chinese grocery store and, although I thought it was a little expensive to buy just for 1 dish, I find myself adding a splash here and there to lots of other asian dishes. Well worth the money for the depth of flavour it adds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
Followed the recipe exactly for great results. I used low sodium soy sauce and I found it somewhat salty but still tasted good. I fried the tofu for about 15 minutes before adding the garlic, because I wanted to tofu crispy without burning the garlic. The leftovers the next day actually tasted better, and the tofu was less salty and more mellow in taste. Next time I'll let it sit in the fridge for a day for the tofu to take on the marinade sauce. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkypink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by stacy32670
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
I used regular firm tofu since its what I had on hand. I also used just enough of the sauce to turn the tofu medium brown and that way is wasnt salty. This was really tasty, Ill make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stacy32670

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Willis, Texas, USA
Living In: Dayton, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
I thought this was great - I made it exactly as described and it turned out very well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA
Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Fried Rice

See how to turn leftovers into a fast and delicious meal.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

Fried Rice Restaurant Style

This easy fried rice goes with just about any entrée.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States