Taiwanese Fried Tofu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2007
It was ok, I added garlic chili sauce which made it better to my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2007
I've tried to cook tofu so many ways, but can never get restaurant quality tasting tofu dishes. THIS dish is the BEST I've ever had!!! I couldn't find the Chinese black vinegar, but found black bean sauce as others had suggested which was excellent with this dish. I also had trouble getting the tofu to 'brown' even after cooking it for over 20 minutes. I finally gave up and left it soft and white, but it was still delicious. THANKS SO MUCH!!! Will make this often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DakotaSMS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LadyWilCook
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2007
I really love this recipe. Especially great on top of white rice. I originally sent in a 5 star review on this recipe, using Balsamic Vinegar since I couldn't find Chinese Black Vinegar. Now, thanks to my bestfriend, who sent me a bottle of Chinese Black Vinegar over the holidays, I find that the Chinese Black Vinegar made a great diffence in appearance and in taste. I would make this recipe again and again using the Chinese Black Vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
From the first time cooking it, it's always been a hit. And to date, I've cooked it just about twice a month! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vicci

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tinton Falls, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2007
I'm not really experienced at cooking or at buying ingredients so I never ended up finding sesame oil or chinese black vinegar. What I did find is black bean sauce so I added that in. It took alot longer than 10 minutes for my tofu to brown, I was starting to get worried. But eventually it did, anyway the end result seemed way too salty. I don't know if its my beginner skills and me taking 'seasoning' too far or because I used 1/3 of dark soy sauce instead of normal stuff. Anyway (this may sound a little strange) when I lick the sauce it's nice, but then when I chew and shallow the tofu, it really is too salty for me. I think I shall make some rice tomorrow and hopefully the sauce will immerse into that and become weaker (less salty). Otherwise, the green onions and garlic smelt so yummy! Also the tofu when it started browning looked really yum too. I think my results was probably influenced more on my tastebuds and skills than the recipe. I may try this again in the future with a few adjustments (e.g. less salt and less soy sauce)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarena

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2007
Delicious with the addition of black bean sauce!!! My husband likes to add chinese hot sauce to his.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lor

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Waterloo, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2007
i dont know whay but my tofu caouldnt be as black as the picture. the sauce is very thin and the sauce isnt really get nito the tofu, im not sure if i wanna do it again with the tofu. but teh sauce is very fragrant i think i'll do it again but i'll replace tofu with noodle :) thnks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gooberette
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2006
My husband and I LOVED this recipe!!! This is some of the best tofu that I have ever had!!! I wouldn't change a thing about this recipe. We will be making this a lot!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brigham City, Utah, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

Displaying results 21-28 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Fried Rice

See how to turn leftovers into a fast and delicious meal.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

Fried Rice Restaurant Style

This easy fried rice goes with just about any entrée.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States