Taiwanese Fried Tofu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
I followed the recipe exactly and with my experience with soy sauce, I used half Kikkoman and half dark soy sauce. The tofu still came out too salty. The taste of the sauce of great, but I would definitely use significantly less soy sauce next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
I was looking to make a Taiwanese dish and found this one. (I am Taiwanese myself). I made this for dinner and used the exact ingredients. Unfortunately, I felt that the dish was way too salty, major overload. I think the soy sauce should be cut in half of what's listed, and even then, I'm not sure I like the flavor that much, it's nothing special. I give it two stars for being edible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
woah, too much soy sauce!! but i guess americans love the soy sauce...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
I thought this was great - I made it exactly as described and it turned out very well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA
Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by stacy32670
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
I used regular firm tofu since its what I had on hand. I also used just enough of the sauce to turn the tofu medium brown and that way is wasnt salty. This was really tasty, Ill make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stacy32670

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Willis, Texas, USA
Living In: Dayton, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
Followed the recipe exactly for great results. I used low sodium soy sauce and I found it somewhat salty but still tasted good. I fried the tofu for about 15 minutes before adding the garlic, because I wanted to tofu crispy without burning the garlic. The leftovers the next day actually tasted better, and the tofu was less salty and more mellow in taste. Next time I'll let it sit in the fridge for a day for the tofu to take on the marinade sauce. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkypink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
My husband and I loved this recipe. It is really tasty I usually serve it with rice and a quick veggie stir fry. I found the black vinegar at a chinese grocery store and, although I thought it was a little expensive to buy just for 1 dish, I find myself adding a splash here and there to lots of other asian dishes. Well worth the money for the depth of flavour it adds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
I did not care for this. The tofu didn't fry up like I had hoped nor did it brown at all. The sauce was too salty ( despite my using light soy sauce) and I would not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meredith Mandel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cinnybear
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
This reminds me of what my mom used to make me when I was younger (only better, sorry mom!) Reduce the soy sauce a tad just to cut down on the saltiness. You can also use firm tofu..just be sure to drain it ahead of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orinda, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
It wasn't bad, but it was too salty for me. Next time, I'd decrease the soy sauce and increase the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by always_hungry

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Charleston, South Carolina, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Fried Rice

See how to turn leftovers into a fast and delicious meal.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

Fried Rice Restaurant Style

This easy fried rice goes with just about any entrée.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States