Taiwanese Fried Tofu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
I used fig balsamic vinegar and honey and braggs liquid aminos. Didn't have any onions.... Added to frozen stir fry veggies and basmati rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katrina Alevizos

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: River Hills, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
I had to make a few adjustments, but it came out deliciously. In lieu of white sugar, I used agave nectar and local honey. Also, I was afraid that the sauce would be too salty with all that soy sauce, so I used half as much and substituted organic teriyaki sauce (Whole Foods' brand) for the other hald called for by the recipe. I couldn't find the Chinese black vinegar at my Whole Foods, so I substituted Chinese Ume Plum Vinegar and the sauce tasted amazing. I also added white sesame seeds toward the end of cooking the tofu. I served this dish over angel hair pasta that had been tossed in a little sesame seed oil and dusted with white sesame seeds. I added extra chopped green onions as an edible garnish. Delish! NOTE: If you are not experienced in cooking with tofu, you need to drain it well and blot it with lots of paper towels to get most of the moisture out. Otherwise it will take FOREVER to cook and brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Park City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
Fantastic, my new favorite way to prep Tofu for a nice meal, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
I loved the idea of this recipe but it was a little bland for my family. We garnished with oelek sambal and added water chestnuts for crunch. A solid base recipe to prepare tofu!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
Ok... Easy to make but not terribly tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
I still have yet to figure the right way to cook the tofu. However, every time I've made this recipe, it has been awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukie, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2013
I loved the taste...but definitely made it my own... I used 1/4 cup Low Sodium Soy Sauce; I used a teaspoon of cider vinegar and a teaspoon of white instead of black Chinese; I also substituted the sesame seed oil for coconut oil(the thought was to counter the soy sauce); and lastly used Truvia instead of sugar. Everything was the same...I did fry the tofu alone to evaporate the water out of it first, then in olive oil with a table spoon of the mix after browned I added the garlic and green onion so they didn't burn and then added the sauce. I put the tofu over Bulgar Wheat and 6 Asparagus Spears. Was just amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bellerose, New York, USA
Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
Awesome!! Definitely will make again! :D Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
This is the BEST fried tofu we've EVER made! Lots of flavor! Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Fried Rice

See how to turn leftovers into a fast and delicious meal.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

Fried Rice Restaurant Style

This easy fried rice goes with just about any entrée.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States