Tail Burner Firehouse French Fries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
This is the best french fry recipe I have came across. We love spicy foods, and this fits in as a nice surprise to everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HiTekRedNek

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
Pretty tasty! I made a few changes to the recipe... I didn't have any lemon pepper, but I probably missed out on the best spice in the recipe by omitting it! I sprinkled on the rest of the seasonings instead of following the exact directions. I also - sparingly - used spray butter instead of butter pats, and the fries were still a little soft. I layered them on a baking sheet and cooked at 425 degrees for 16 minutes. If I would have cooked longer, I'm sure they would have been crunchier. Either way, I really liked the taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs Harte

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Henley, Missouri, USA
Living In: Fenton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2008
Watching the Crosstown Classics with my White Sox playing the Cubs today, I was in total junk food mode. Chips, salsa, hot dogs...and now, french fries. I love french fries, and I love spice. This recipe had my name written all over it. Being a "struggling" college kid, I had Ore-Ida Extra Crispy Easy Fries on hand, so I sprinkled the seasonings on the fries, and popped those babies in the microwave. 4 minutes later, I had a nice batch of spicy, spicy fries, which I dipped in sour cream on the side. Great idea, EMTCARO2, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
Oh good lord, this recipe did /not/ go well. First, since I was on a kick of trying to use up things in my house, I thought I would make fries from potatoes. Then, I had to figure out how many potatoes would be in a bag. I figured 5? Hmmm. So it didn't look like very much, so I put half the amount of spices in, 1 tbl lemon pepper, 1 of the crushed red pepper, 1 teaspoon of salt and garlic powder. I totally forgot the chili pepper and black pepper (did it really need more after all of the pepper in the lemon pepper?). So, I baked it for 30 minutes covered in a casserole pan to get the potatoes cooked. Then I uncovered it and baked another 30 turning a few times. The result? They looked good, smelled good, but too dang spicy to enjoy! I ate them--albeit with about 1/2 cup of ff sour cream to dip them in. Next time I'll either quadruple the amounts of potato or cut down on the red pepper flakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langley, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
Didn't care for these at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2007
This is great! I made these fries with garlic pepper instead of lemon pepper and added a tablespoon of salt. I rubbed the steak fries with olive oil instead of butter, then poured on the seasoning and baked them for 30 min. Soooooo good!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AJRobinson71

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Pedro, California, USA
Living In: Apple Valley, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2007
Good blend of seasonings. I am not sure the butter is necessary though, considering the extra calories it piles on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Ledge, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bay City, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2007
Waaaaay too spicy for me, but Husband liked them well enough. The only thing I did differently was to increase the amount of garlic powder. The lemon pepper was a nice touch. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2007
My son liked these, he gave them a thumbs up. I did not use butter, instead I sprayed the cookie sheet with non-stick cooking spray, they where a little dry. Next time I will use the butter, and see if that helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulare, California, USA
Living In: Pasco, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
These are soooo good. I can't believe you did this to me. I just want more and more, and I have acid reflux sooo bad....Sometimes though it is worth a little pain for this goodness. Lord knows what I am doing to my insides....LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Empire, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked French Fries I

See the tasty way to make baked French fries.

Homemade Crispy Seasoned French Fries

These fries stay crispy even reheated in the microwave!

Best Baked Fries

See how to make crispy, crunchy, healthier French fries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States