Tail Burner Firehouse French Fries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
To quote my daughter, "oh, man, these fries are so good". I used steak fries because that is what I had and use a little less red pepper flakes for my kids' sake. These are really good, and we were fighting over who got the last few!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
These were pretty tasty fries. I did follow the other reviews and only used two tablespoons of butter and drizzled it over the top of the fries. I think that was plenty to make them nice and cripsy. Of course, I cut down on the red pepper seasoning because we don't like things too spicy. I didn't use as much lemon pepper, because I'm not a fan, but I think next time I will try it with the full amount. These had a nice balance of flavors and they will definitely be made again in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
These were really good, and simple too! I didn't measure any of the spices, just srinkled them on ( I wasn't sure if the recipe was calling for red pepper flakes, or cayenne pepper, because I don't know what red pepper seasoning is, so I just used some of both). Also, I was short on butter, so I just drizzled on some olive oil (maybe couple of tablespoons), and tossed them around before putting them in the oven. I baked mine longer than 15 mins., maybe more like 20-25, turning 1/2 way through. They came out perfectly crispy and spicy! I will definately be making these again! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
These were excellent. I used olive oil instead of butter, and only 2 tbls instead of 1/4 cup. With much chagrin, I didn't have any lemon pepper, so I had to leave it out. I cut the dried red pepper in half so the kids wouldn't bawl, and although I was worried, they gobbled them up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BLyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
Love, love, love these fries!!! we did not use as much red pepper seasoning but WOW! these are the BEST!! Thanks for sharing such a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spikes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
I didn't care for the lemon pepper in this but the rest was perfect. Spicy yes but good. They were simple to throw together to go with my burgers. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
oh these are sooo yummy! I cut back on the butter (it seemed like it would be a lot) but I kept the rest of the spices the same. My father whole family loved these fries, and my mother, for the first time ever, asked ME for a recipe. If you LOVE spicy food this is definitely the way to make fries. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: College Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
The flavors did not blend well! The lemon pepper was too much and I used only 1 1/2 tbsp! I also used only 1 tsp crushed red pepper, 2 tbsp butter and was still not impressed! To modify a recipe as much as I did, is not worth keeping!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa2roberto

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Auburndale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
I was hoping for flavorful spicy fries but these turned out to only be way too SPICY and I only used half the crushed red peppers. Not a recipe that I will be keeping for future use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Air force wife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedar Falls, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
Wowzers! The fire alarm was going off!!!! These are HOT! Instead of using frozen fries, I just diced and peeled potatoes. I melted the butter and added the spices to that and poured it over the potatoes and mixed it so they were all evenly covered. I baked at the given temp for 30 minutes. I cut the seasonings in half just due to availability but with the amount of potatoes I used (5 small ones) it worked perfect! They didn't get 'crunchy' like a french fry so maybe next time I will actually try the fries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bizzymomma

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Baked French Fries I

See the tasty way to make baked French fries.

Homemade Crispy Seasoned French Fries

These fries stay crispy even reheated in the microwave!

Best Baked Fries

See how to make crispy, crunchy, healthier French fries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States