Tahini Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Ryan Lam
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2015
I ended up using pre-roasted sesame seeds from the asian food aisle and blended it up into a paste following the instructions above. The sesame seeds costed about $3.50 for almost a cup's worth of roasted sesame seeds. I used this tahini and Ina Garten's hummus recipe and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ryan Lam

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2015
SO EASY !! .. like the others I also toasted my own sesame seeds in a non stick skillet ..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisajoy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Renton, Washington, USA
Living In: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2015
I bought toasted seeds. Had to add over 1/2 cup olive oil, 1cup of water and about a half of a cup of lemon juice. My super fancy blender kept seizing up. By the time I was done I had a burnt seed soup. Will try again buying regular seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2015
Excellent recipe and very inexpensive to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
I used this to make the "Real Hummus" recipe on AR. This was easy to make. I needed to add extra olive oil for it to blend properly. Also, I used black and white sesame seeds which gave it a darker color than the one on the recipe's main page.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacolyn Dandreano

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beacon, New York, USA
Living In: Fishkill, New York, USA
Photo by 19brad79
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
Mine's way darker than the other photos. Thought I might have over toasted the seeds, but it doesn't taste burnt. Actually quite flavorful...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sapphire925JR
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
Although it was a great starter.. This recipe required a great deal of fine tuning to the taste.. Great base though..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by notabrat1
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
This is bitter, but fills the need for tahini in hummus. Can't find tahini here in my part if Tenneessee. It does take a while to blend it up. I made a half of this recipe (1/2 cup of sesame seeds) but ended up using almost a 1/4 cup of oil to get it to blend up to the right consistency. Thanks for helping me to make the black bean hummus from AR. I really needed to use up done black beans! Thanks again! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by notabrat1
Home Town: Sikeston, Missouri, USA
Living In: Martin, Tennessee, USA
Photo by *~Lissa~*
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
Toasted the seeds in a dry saute pan on the stove top because it's easier for me to watch their browning that way. Considering the price of tahini at the store, I thought it was fair to make it instead (Buying the seeds in bulk or in bags from the health food store is much more cost effective than buying the little jars from the spice section!) Not only that, it probably took me as long to make this as it does to stir the store-bought container when the oil has separated, lol! I feel it needed a pinch of salt to brighten the sesame flavor. I made just enough tahini for making a garbanzo can's worth of hummus (quartered this recipe). Look forward to making that tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA
Reviewed: May 17, 2014
I couldn't find tahini in the store so I searched online and found this. Fortunately I had just bought a bag of sesame seeds from Penzeys. Very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Tahini

A delicious middle-eastern sesame sauce.

Salmon with Brown Sugar Glaze

Oven broiled salmon fillets with sweet Dijon mustard sauce.

Homemade Jams & Jellies the Easy Way

See how to make fresh jams and jellies from scratch—in just 30 minutes!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States