Taffy Apple Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2006
similar to a 24 hour fruit salad. I only had rainbow colored mini marshmallows and used those. Used 2 gala apples and 20 oz. pineapple tidbits. Apples sliced thin w/skin on for added color. Looked pretty; confetti color. I would not suggest using a tart apple such as granny smith; feel it would be too sour. The salad needed 'something'. Made the caramel sauce from 'bananas in caramel sauce' by Sarah Hand from this site and that brought it up to snuff. Salad itself was a bit boring without. Layered salad with sauce and also drizzled over top with a few more peanuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
I love this recipe too! - for those looking for "something" that might be missing -- try using cider vinegar instead of white...... it gives the salad a little oommph.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2006
This was good, but I agree with TUNISIANSWIFE, it needed "something". I think it was lacking the caramel flavor as well. On purpose I used rainbow marshmallows as that is how my Grandmother used to make this dish. I didn't have spanish peanuts and used Virginia dry roasted instead. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Photo by Tricia Winterle Jaeger
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
This is so very yummy! I cut my pineapple chunks smaller so they weren't bigger than the apple chunks, wanted to keep them about the same size. I also added an extra apple (red delicious) and left the peels on all of them to add some color. With the red, green, and white colors it would be a pretty salad for Christmas. I left out the peanuts since I'm bringing it to a friends who has allergies but will try it with the peanuts next time. Also, this is a taffy apple salad, not a caramel apple salad. **UPDATE** Had it with lightly salted cocktail peanuts this time and it's 10 times better than without.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia Winterle Jaeger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sasebo, Nagasaki, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2003
This was the recipe I was searching for! Very tasty but I especially like it because it's light & refreshing. Perfect for a summer cook-out. Also very convenient because the ingredients are all things you would probably have on hand. (I used crushed pineapple and made it without the nuts - my kids won't eat them.) A great recipe. Thanks Jeanne!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
This was so good. Definitely a keeper. Also, two minor changes. 20 oz can of pineapple tidbits and walnuts instead of peanuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Bristow Lehto

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
Good recipe, mine got a bit too liquified, since all I had on hand was crushed pineapple ,I wont make that same mistake again! I used one granny smith and one red delicious. The combo made for a nice tart and sweet crunch. I also didint peel the apples, it added a nice color to an otherwise white and bland looking salad! Will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Pecbot Brown

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
I love this receipe! I got it originally from my sister-in-law who got it from her Mom so there are many of us that love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke Thesen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2005
If you can wait the 2-3 days its totally worth it. Comes out very tasty, creamy and the apples stay fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CrystalGayle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2005
This was the best salad I ever had. It was so good. But Im thinking next time of decorating it with carmal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Autumn Apple Salad II

This simple salad is tart, sweet, crisp, and refreshing.

Pasta Salad with Avocado and Tomato

See how to make a fresh pasta salad with avocadoes, tomato, and mozzarella.

Apple Crisp II

This satisfying warm dessert goes perfectly with vanilla ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States