Taffy Apple Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2006
This was good, but I agree with TUNISIANSWIFE, it needed "something". I think it was lacking the caramel flavor as well. On purpose I used rainbow marshmallows as that is how my Grandmother used to make this dish. I didn't have spanish peanuts and used Virginia dry roasted instead. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2006
similar to a 24 hour fruit salad. I only had rainbow colored mini marshmallows and used those. Used 2 gala apples and 20 oz. pineapple tidbits. Apples sliced thin w/skin on for added color. Looked pretty; confetti color. I would not suggest using a tart apple such as granny smith; feel it would be too sour. The salad needed 'something'. Made the caramel sauce from 'bananas in caramel sauce' by Sarah Hand from this site and that brought it up to snuff. Salad itself was a bit boring without. Layered salad with sauce and also drizzled over top with a few more peanuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2006
This is really good. The key is to keep the heat low when blending in the egg or it will start to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2006
I agree with the others, why you have to wait 2-3 days for it. I made it like the recipe said, except I drained my pineapple and poured the juice out (instead of saving it like the recipe said). I think it tasted wonderful still--very creamy dessert and the apples were very fresh too. I love how you get a bit of sweet and salty at the same time. I'd like to see how it would taste if you combined all the ingredients in one day--but I imagine this is one of the recipes that will probably taste better after it is a few days old. I will make this several more times in the future as it is a wonderful summer dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Mansfield, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2006
This salad is delicious and tastes just as the title suggests. I had lost the recipe I had from my mother in law and was so glad to find it here! I will say that I don't understand the comment from another reviewer about waiting the 2-3 days. The ingredients sit overnight in two separate containers, reday the next day. As a matter of fact, I have made it and eaten it within the same day and it was still great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tipton, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2005
If you can wait the 2-3 days its totally worth it. Comes out very tasty, creamy and the apples stay fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CrystalGayle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2005
This was the best salad I ever had. It was so good. But Im thinking next time of decorating it with carmal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2005
This salad is delicious! I get rave reviews whenever I make it, and it's very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2005
This was okay. I thought it was a little blah. I think that I would have cut up the chunks a little because they are a little to large for the salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crazykiddies

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2003
This is delicious with a meal or for dessert. The version I know uses walnuts or pecans; now I will try it with peanuts... Whenever I bring this to a pitch-in, everyone wants the recipe! Wonderful in any season. I always double it so we have some for us back home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Washington, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Autumn Apple Salad II

This simple salad is tart, sweet, crisp, and refreshing.

Apple Crisp II

This satisfying warm dessert goes perfectly with vanilla ice cream.

How to Make Apple Tarte Tatin

See how to make a simple and amazing apple tarte.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States