Taffy Apple Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2008
This simple taffy salad is a winner at any BBQ or picnic. I do not make mine a day ahead of time and it still turns out fine, I just cool the juice in the freezer for a bit, adding bits of Snickers bar makes this rich but it is great without it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stacymae
Home Town: Eastover, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Otterbach, Rheinland-Pfalz, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
This is a good recipe, however, I cut up about 3 whole snickers bar or use more if you like. It gives the carmel flavor your looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2008
I just made this for my son's 3rd birthday as a side to some grilled burgers. Everyone raved about it. I doubled the recipe and the only changes I made was to switch the vinegar to apple cider vinegar, I used one can of pineapple chunks and one of crushed pineapple (well drained) and added fewer peanuts. My Mom even asked if I could please make another big batch to bring to my Dad's birthday party next Sunday! Delicious and really easy to do!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
I love this recipe too! - for those looking for "something" that might be missing -- try using cider vinegar instead of white...... it gives the salad a little oommph.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tricia Jaeger
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
This is so very yummy! I cut my pineapple chunks smaller so they weren't bigger than the apple chunks, wanted to keep them about the same size. I also added an extra apple (red delicious) and left the peels on all of them to add some color. With the red, green, and white colors it would be a pretty salad for Christmas. I left out the peanuts since I'm bringing it to a friends who has allergies but will try it with the peanuts next time. Also, this is a taffy apple salad, not a caramel apple salad. **UPDATE** Had it with lightly salted cocktail peanuts this time and it's 10 times better than without.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia Jaeger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sasebo, Nagasaki, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
This is a big hit with my family and friends. I don't always have time to make it a day ahead, so after I cook the mixture, I stick it in the freezer to chill. I also mix the marshmellows and pineapple and put it in the fridge first thing to chill. It turns out great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Greenwood, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2006
This was good, but I agree with TUNISIANSWIFE, it needed "something". I think it was lacking the caramel flavor as well. On purpose I used rainbow marshmallows as that is how my Grandmother used to make this dish. I didn't have spanish peanuts and used Virginia dry roasted instead. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2006
similar to a 24 hour fruit salad. I only had rainbow colored mini marshmallows and used those. Used 2 gala apples and 20 oz. pineapple tidbits. Apples sliced thin w/skin on for added color. Looked pretty; confetti color. I would not suggest using a tart apple such as granny smith; feel it would be too sour. The salad needed 'something'. Made the caramel sauce from 'bananas in caramel sauce' by Sarah Hand from this site and that brought it up to snuff. Salad itself was a bit boring without. Layered salad with sauce and also drizzled over top with a few more peanuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2006
This is really good. The key is to keep the heat low when blending in the egg or it will start to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2006
I agree with the others, why you have to wait 2-3 days for it. I made it like the recipe said, except I drained my pineapple and poured the juice out (instead of saving it like the recipe said). I think it tasted wonderful still--very creamy dessert and the apples were very fresh too. I love how you get a bit of sweet and salty at the same time. I'd like to see how it would taste if you combined all the ingredients in one day--but I imagine this is one of the recipes that will probably taste better after it is a few days old. I will make this several more times in the future as it is a wonderful summer dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Mansfield, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Autumn Apple Salad II

This simple salad is tart, sweet, crisp, and refreshing.

Apple Crisp II

This satisfying warm dessert goes perfectly with vanilla ice cream.

How to Make Apple Tarte Tatin

See how to make a simple and amazing apple tarte.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States