Taffy Apple Salad I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2007
so very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2007
Taste just like what you get a your local deli counter. My son would have ate the entire bowl tonight if I let him. This is a definite keeper for a twist for a salad with some BBQ's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommaJ

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orland Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2007
I have made this salad MANY times for picnics and summer meals over the past 4 years. EVERYONE always raves and wants the recipe. I usually do not mix it all up until shortly before serving and have never had problems with separation. THANK YOU for such a family and friend favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
I consider myself a pretty good cook and baker. All I could taste was the cider vinegar. I will never use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plymouth, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2007
Make as directed...no changes needed in any way, shape or form...I love this salad!!!! My daughter has a peanut allergy, so I had to use pecans...yummm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2007
This recipe was awesome! However I found I didn't have crushed pineapple so I just used the juice of can of pineapple chuck and omitted the pineapple. I also noticed too late the sauce was suppose to be done the night before -so I made it and popped in the freezer for about 30-45 min to cool it down. I turned out great using only the pineapple juice off 20oz can and freezing the sauce and serving the same day after mixing it up (no separation of the sauce either)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
This was just what I was looking for. My aunt makes a similar salad without the nuts and adds bananas, marshmallows and whipping cream instead of cool whip. I wanted a lower fat version, and used fat free cool whip. The nuts made a great addition. I went ahead and added marshmallows and bananas at the end. Will make agian!!! I loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2006
I am not a big fan of taffy apple salad, but my mom is and asked me to print out a recipe for it. It same out really well and i didnt have any problems with seperating. I would also consider straining the egg and pineapple mixture after chilling it overnight and before adding it to the fruit and nut mixture. We normally add marshmallow and i didnt realize this recipe didnt include those until after i started. I just ended up folding them in after the cool whip. Overall, I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
Everyone loves this dish! I have tried various types of apples, but everyone prefers the Granny Smith for the tart/sweet combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tarpon Springs, Florida, USA
Living In: Spring Hill, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
I made this for Thanksgiving dinner. I used Gala apples - they’re my favorite for flavor, but don’t have the color that’s needed for this dish. I used quartered Maraschino cherries for color, just a half cup or so. It gave the salad a slightly pink hue and added a little flavor twist. To solve the “separation” issue that others mentioned, I made the sauce and refrigerated it. Then I combined the fruits in a large zipper bag, taking care to force out as much air as possible and refrigerated it separately. Just before serving, I folded in the chilled whipped topping. It got rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Hammond

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Williamsburg, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Autumn Apple Salad II

This simple salad is tart, sweet, crisp, and refreshing.

Easy Apple Crisp

An easy apple crisp made with white cake mix, cinnamon, and butter.

Apple & Cheddar Cheese Soufflés

A feather-light soufflé with caramelized apples and sharp Cheddar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States