Taffy Apple Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
I made this cake according to the recipe no changes. My wife and daughter loved it.It's nice and moist with a spice cake feel to it. will definatly be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
This seems to be a love it or hate it recipe! it seems OK I guess, but I've had better. I cut the sugar back by 1/3 cup (I also used granulated instead of icing sugar - 2C). I increased the apples to 3 medium granny smiths - but didn't chop them fine enough. I should have added the whole bag of caramels too. I note that there is no leavening agent in the recipe, which is why most are saying that it is heavy. 2 tsp of baking soda fixed that - the cake is not heavy. I also added 1/2 tsp of salt for flavoring. The cake is not too sweet now, so I am adding a caramel frosting to improve the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
Served it the first time to company...they loved it! I added about 1/2 cup more of chopped apples...I like the moisture it added and I also used 1/2 bag of caramel bits that you can buy, instead of cutting caramels. For a glaze I made a powdered sugar glaze and then added the same amount of caramel syrup (for ice cream) and drizzeled it over top. Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2005
My family really did not care for this cake. Because of cutting up the carmels, it took a very long time to make. It was very heavy and did not have a very good flavor. I would not recommend it. Skip the cake and just eat the carmels by themselves!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2005
It is a sweet and spicy cake. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morley, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2005
While it does take a while to make (especially cutting the caramels) this recipe is well worth it! Keep in mind it is sweet and dense but really good - smaller portions recommended. One of my husband's single guy friends even buys me the caramels so that I will make the cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christie Brasser

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2004
I HAVE TO AGREE WITH ONE USER THE CAKE IS VERY HEAVY. I REALLY WAS NOT THRILLED WITH IT. FOR ONE THING IT TAKES ABOUT 20 MINUTES CUTTING THE CARAMELS AND YOUR HAND HURTS AFTER. I BROUGHT IT TO A HALL CLEAN-UP DAY AND WAS NOT REALLY A HIT. IT TASTED REALLY BLAND TOO. I THINK THE CARAMELS WOULD TASTE GOOD IN A LIGHTER CAKE. I'M SORRY BUT I WILL NOT USE THIS RECIPE AGAIN
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2003
I found this cake to be very sweet, and the caramels didn't melt well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Laytonsville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2001
I made this and everyone love it I add more of the candy and put whip topping on it with some carmel sauce it was a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2000
I made this cake for my family but my kids did not take to it too well. The cake is heavy; like a pound cake. My husband and I enjoyed it however and I took what we didn't eat to the teacher's lounge at the school where I teach where it received rave reviews and several requests for copies of the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States