Tacos De Matamoros Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
Awesome...I just recently moved to Canada from the States, and there are no Mexican restaurants to be found. Thank goodness I can get my fix anytime, right in my own kitchen!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Reaumegirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Independence, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
This makes the best taco meat ever. My Family loves it as I have searched for just the perfect authentic recipe forever. I think by cooking the meat for so long makes the texture and flavor combination perfect. The flavors are that of Abuelos restaurant. Great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
This recipe was awesome ! I used extra lean ground beef thus saving the time to remove the fat after cooking. The added onions and bell peppers made for a delicious taco dinner. We are from the southwest but I have never tried boiling the ground beef. What a difference this makes. The meat does not become dried out and retains all of the spices. Kudos on this one !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Tolland, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
This is a great recipe for ground beef tacos. The beef got so soft. I served with mexican rice and refried beans recipes that I got here too. It was a very good meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2007
I would have given this a five star, if I didnt have to change it so much. I added 1/4 cup chopped onion, 1 large roma tomato chopped, 1/3 cup of corn (our personal fav version), and salt, pepper, oregano, garlic powder, onion powder, and 1/4 cup of tomato sauce. put in fried tortilla shells, topped with tomato, salsa, lettuce, and sour cream and it was delicious, I guess I can say thanks for the inspiration, the recipe as written wasnt that great though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wifeyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2007
This was amazing! I only made 1 lb so I halved all of the ingredients. I added the juice of half a lime to give it that extra mexican zip. Also, I used extra lean ground beef and didn't drain it. At about 45min in, I cranked the heat up to medium and let the liquid reduce on its own. (I like the beef a little saucy :) Thank-you for this recipe - I will never make tacos any other way again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Caledon, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2007
Great! Very flavorful. My rent smelled wonderful while the meat was simmering. Fresh tomatoes from my garden topped it off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2007
Good, but flavor is nothing special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Georgia, USA
Living In: Griffin, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2007
I finally figured out how restaurants get their taco meat so yummy-boiling it!! I've always cooked mine in the pan with blah results. I love the fine, soft texture of the meat cooked like this. I used lean ground beef, and also used about a cup of the liquid, b/c we like it a little juicy. Nice flavor! I never had to add extra water, either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2007
This is so yummy! and just like the taco meat I used to eat as a kid. I have been wanting a taco meat recipe like this for a long time. I made it with half beef, half venison and used 2 tsp of Kosher Salt instead of the 1 tsp listed - which made the sesoning perfect. The ONLY reason I gave this 4 stars is because I didn't like watching over it for 1.5 hours to continue adding water. I'm going to try a crock-pot version and see if it works. I'll let you know!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Taqueria-Style Tacos (Carne Asada)

See how to make authentic taqueria-style beef tacos.

Chicken Tacos

See how to make quick-and-easy chicken tacos.

Pico de Gallo

See how to make a simple and super-fresh Mexican salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States