Tacos De Matamoros Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
Made this for dinner a few nights ago and had to throw the rest away! This was ok, but very bland. Tacos are usually very popular in my house, but no one wanted seconds of this. I'll stick to my own recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
LOVED the results of this cooking method! I don't usually like ground beef but THIS is delicious! Not sure how to explain it but it turns out kind of like the texture of Taco Bell's gound beef. I was afraid to cover it in water so I started with less, then added more water as needed. I also left out the green pepper. I agree, if it's bland, spice it up but this cooking method rocks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARKANDDEEA

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Cheesecakemama
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
Well my son said its the "BOMB" so do I need to say anymore. It does take some more time, but worth it. I am trying to get away from the prepackage items, because of sodium. I will make this again. I used my potatoe masher to break up the meat. My meat was also still a little frozen I cut into four pieces. I also had time to drain the fat and put the juice in freezer to skim off the fat. I am thinking next time of doing the whole batch, so I can freeze some for quick tacos. I even took some of the spice juice and put in the rice I made. There were just like we get at the restaurant, very authentic. O I did let mine simmer longer than an hour. That is why I gave 4 stars, because I think the spices need to mesh with the meat. O and my tomatoes for topping I squeezed lime juice and pepper on them. Thanks so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheesecakemama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chillicothe, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
uh, no, this is *not* authentic-tasting. i grew up in deep south texas, then lived in laredo for 5 (long) years. with all the rave reviews, i thought i was in for a treat and ditched my own way of making taco meat. i was so dissappointed last night that i made another batch today using way more spice, since the orig. is quite bland. it was better, but not great. i sooooo disagree with the boiling method and cannot ever remember eating a taco with this consistency in matamoros, reynosa, progresso, nuevo laredo, mexico city, monterrey, san miguel, etc, etc, and all points in between. i honestly thought the second batch would be a huge hit, but even with the zippier spices (jalapenos, way more garlic, oregano, cayenne, diced tomatoes, potatoes, etc), no cigar. authentic taco meat *is* supp. to be soft, just not soft and slightly rubbery. we'll eat this pot full o' mush cuz anything is pretty much edible wrapped in a tortilla heaped with sour cream, cheese and salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
I love this recipe, it is very authentic. it is sweet, not very spicy. If you want spice, add some. Otherwise very easy to make. I only sauteed the meat for about 15 minutes in the pan once i added the water. I added the water by eye as i was mixing, just enough for the meat to absorb the liquid and the sauce would be thick. I did that so the meat would be done faster, it's up to you. Either way they'll taste great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2008
Bland, bland, BLAND! Also hated the texture of the meat. Followed the recipe exactly and couldn't get myself to eat seconds. I threw the rest away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
very good! i used it to fill gorditas. next time i think i'll add some diced potato to the mix. authentic mexican flavor--thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by margaux

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
Exactly what I wanted in a taco meat--I'd only had the dry-fried, packaged-seasoning kind before. This is so much better! And since I was only feeding myself and my husband, I had plenty leftover to make enchiladas with the next night, which I highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
These tacos tasted just like my favorite Mexican restaurants! I'll be making them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
Needed a lot more seasoning. Had to add salt,pepper and hot sauce. Like the broth however. Used it the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Taqueria-Style Tacos (Carne Asada)

See how to make authentic taqueria-style beef tacos.

Chicken Tacos

See how to make quick-and-easy chicken tacos.

Pico de Gallo

See how to make a simple and super-fresh Mexican salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States