Taco Stuffed Shells Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
My husband really liked these. I wasn't sure if he would becuase he's not a big fan of refried beans but it didn't phase him at all. He wants me to make these on a regular basis!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
It tasted delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Young

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sheboygan Falls, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Plymouth, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
This dish was O.K. I didn't dislike it but I would not rate it at the top either. I did use a 24 oz jar of thick and chunky salsa and I am glad I did. I may make it again for an get together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
This was a great dish. I made the mistake of using too little salsa, so it was a little dry - but with more salsa it would be wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
These were great!! I made a few without beans because I don't like them. I used taco sauce on the bottom of the pan because My salsa is thick and chunky so I didn't want them to stick. Everyone that ate them loved them. I think next time I will make them and freeze them for another night when I'm in not home and my boyfriend has to put something in the oven for dinner. I will make these again and agian.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erikagee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Monroe, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
I loved this recipe. A nice change from the traditional stuffed shells. I tried adding a little water to the bottom to keep the shells from sticking (although I have never had a problem with this) and it completely watered down my already watery store bought salsa! (I really should make my own). It ended up being quite a spicy treat too because my boyfriend's hot salsa ran into my mild! I added onion and green pepper to the meat and cheese. Overall, delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
Very good- my husband gives this 4 stars- I cooked 1/2 an onion with my meat- I don't use taco seasoning ever- too easy to use cumin, chile powder, garlic, salt and pepper- so water was not necessary- turned out excellent for me- served with "best spanish rice" and more beans. yum. used "pace".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wiser1

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA
Photo by soapscrubs
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
Oh. My. God. So. Freaking. Good. I haven't tried a recipe on this site in quite awhile and...yeah, this totally exceeded my expectations. I cooked the onions in with the beef and etc instead of sprinkling them with the cheese...definitely used more salsa (I used HOT salsa so good!), and I baked it for half an hour at 350 and then put the cheese on and baked for another ten minutes. I think just half an hour would have sufficed though; the shells were a little bit over cooked. Didn't stop me from eating them though. I want to make more of these right away. Thank you Jennifer! EDIT: I made these a second time recently. The first time I used regular canned beans, as compared to the refried beans, because I couldn't find the refriend. I made them with the refried this time and I think I like with the beans better. And a tip for vegetarians: Omit the ground beef and use the refriend beans WITH canned red beans, or whatever your preference. =0)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soapscrubs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
We loved this! Often my family and I will choose a recipe to try, then as we eat, we critique the results and decide what we would change in the future. The biggest decision is always, "will we repeat this recipe?" This was a resounding yes for these stuffed shells. The only change made to the preparation was the use of a bit more salsa. 1/4 c. seemed too little for the bottom of the pan, so 1/2 c. was used. Also, 3/4 c. to top remaining shells seemed too little once it had been doled out. I found that I stopped measuring the salsa topping and just made sure that there was enough to cover each shell well so that the pasta did not become crunchy. Like other readers, I cooked this at 350 degrees for 30 minutes, then during the last 10 minutes covered it with shredded cheese before returning it to the oven. This dish was even better on day 2! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by William Bumphrey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochelle, Illinois, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
Made this 2 days ago, and made 2 dishes, one to cook, other in the freezer. I cut the recipes in half as there's only 2 of us. /baked the one last night and must say, we loved it.. Very tasty as is.I did add more Taco sauce to the dish, prior to baking. Thanks Jennifer,will put this into my "keeper" file.. We really enjoyed this.Has a subtle mexican flavor, but also has a similar lasagna flavor..LOVED IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sure to Fool 'Em Vegan Stuffed Shells

What's cooking in Dana Point? Connie's "Sure to Fool 'Em" Stuffed Shells.

Cheesy Stuffed Shells

These shells are an easy weeknight dinner, and they’re fun to make, too.

Stuffed Shells III

See how to make a top-rated recipe for cheesy stuffed pasta shells.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States