Taco Soup VIII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
this was my first time making taco soup, and I took this as a good base point but I did make a few changes. I used four cups of chicken broth, 1 can of chicken since I didn't have any ground beef, 1 can of black beans, 1 onion, 1 packet of taco seasoning, 2 tablespoons of brown sugar, and a can of diced tomatoes. I made this soup in the crockpot on high for 3 or 4 hours just so the flavors would meld together. It was insanely good...i couldn't stop eating it and I can't wait to make it again. When it was ready I crushed tortilla chips on top and added sour cream and shredded cheese. 5 stars all the way...and beware...it's addicting!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DanielleB

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2004
This a wonderful dish! Give it a try. You'll love it. You really don't need a crock pot. Just brown the beef and saute the onion together in a skillet and drain off fat. Then put all ingredients together in a large pot, bring to a boil and let simmer for 20-30 minutes. It's that simple. My variation: 1lb groud beef, 1 onion, 2 cans kidney beans (with juice), 2 cans corn (with juice), 2 cans diced tomatoes (with juice), 1 can tomato suace, and 1 package taco seasoning. Put a spoon full of sour cream on each serving and toss fritos on top! Mmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2005
This soup is very yummy but I had to change it a little. The soup was too thick for a soup. I had to add several cups of water which made me add about half a package more of taco seasoning. If I had more tomato sauce on hand I would have added a little more of that too. It turned out very well and will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2006
i recommend using a can of Ro-Tel diced tomatoes- the variety containing cilantro and lime juice. It makes this great soup awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joelsjen

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2002
This recipe is great! If you are serving someone who doesn't like beans, instead of the cans of kidney beans you can add two cans of chili without beans. It keeps the body of the soup without the beans! CF
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2002
We loved this!! I did add an extra 8 ounce can of tomato sauce. My 7 year old daughter, who eats NOTHING, loved this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2001
This was okay.. but I wouldn't call it soup. It's more like a chili.. very thick and absolutely no broth. This would make a good topping for Nachos.. just melt some cheest on top and spread it over chips. I wouldn't suggest it for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2003
This recipe was simple and delicious. I topped my bowl with shredded taco cheese and chili cheese Fritos, and it was extra good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2001
I tried this recipe for two children that like tacos but not any new recipes. Just the traditional tacos and they just loved it and asked if I could make it again the following day. Excellent!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2002
Very tasty. Easy and quick. Added another can of tomato sauce. Still very thick. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Taco Soup

See how to make a 5-star, beefy taco soup with beans.

Taco Soup II

A flavorful taco soup with ground beef, taco seasoning, beans, and green chiles.

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States