Taco Soup VIII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
Love love love this recipe. I use a can of Nalley's vegetarian chili beans with meat in them. It is so fast and easy and my kids love it. If I'm in a hurry I just toss it all in a pan and heat it on the stove.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
i used tomoto juice and salsa as well as blk beans. its all i had and it taste great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
My husband and I loved this recipe! Although i would minus the tomato sauce and add a family size [dont know the ounce size sorry] can of diced tomatos and half a bottle of la victoria mild,medium, or hot sauce (your choice). Personally the mild gave it no flavor. We love spicy food so I made it with hot and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shawna[darling]

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
It was delicious!!! I added 1 can water and did 1 can of kidney & 1 can of black and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
Good basic recipe but like the other reviewers, I think this sucker needs some tweaking to bring it up to 5 stars but that is a great blueprint to customize. It's too thick. I thinned with mixture of chicken broth and beer. Also, adding canned chopped green chilies, (mild) gives a nice flavor. I use ground turkey which I think is a better flavor. Other garnishes are sliced olives, sour cream and chopped tomatoes, which are also good in the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ellyn Oaksmith

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
This was so tasty and and easy. I substituted one can of black beans (drained/rinsed) for one of the kidney beans. I didn't drain any of the other canned things. However, I found it to be too thick, so I added one can of diced tomatoes (undrained), and after reading some similar taco soup recipes, I threw in one package of dry ranch dressing. Then it was absolutely perfect! If you prefer the thicker, chili-like version, follow the recipe exactly. If you're looking for a soupier texture, add tomatoes and some more seasonings. Good leftover - my husband and I ate it for a week and it was still really good, if not better, than when we first made it. A dollop of sour cream really brings out the flavors - don't skip it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
This is a great recipe, however i did add a can of water, equal to the tomato sauce. Just pour in the tomato sauce then fill can with water and pour in. Instead of using tortilla chips, I bake Jiffy brand cornmeal muffins. Then, just crumble a cornmeal muffin into your bowl of taco soup and top with cheese. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
Thanx for posting this recipe--wonderfully simple & easy to improvise!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Clinton, Iowa, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
i thought this was a great change of pace from a hearty cold weather chili. i buy bags of dried beans, soak them overnight, and cook them on high 8 hrs in my slow cooker. then i freeze them in portions to cook with.it saves me a lot of money and this was a great recipe to use some of them up. i also made my own oven baked tortilla strips the day before and kept them in a sealed tupperware(healthier and cheaper). i look forward to making this more as i enjoy eating lighter soups in the summer
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MI$$DREA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
GREAT! Took this to a church soup supper and it was the first one to go. Everyone wanted seconds and the recipe. Have served it twice since and was a hit both times. I love it because the kids beg for it and it is the only way they will eat beans. Can't wait for Cinco!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fairfield, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Taco Soup II

A flavorful taco soup with ground beef, taco seasoning, beans, and green chiles.

Slow Cooker Taco Soup

See how to make a 5-star, beefy taco soup with beans.

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States