Taco Soup V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2006
I have to say this was delicious. I added a few extras - instead of kidney beans I used can of corn and a can of sliced new potatoes. I also used more hamburger meat and ranch style beans with jalapenos instead of plain pinto beans. We garnished with crushed corn chips and shredded cheddar. This was a big hit around here -- got eaten all up by my hubbie and his friends over watching football. This was also so easy and I need easy with my four month old demanding constant attention. Thanks so much this is a keeper!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucumcari, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2006
I thought this was great. I've made it before without the ranch dressing mix but the ranch really adds flavor to it. Serve it with corn chips and sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2007
Excellent tasty soup! We really enjoyed this and it smelled so good while simmering. I used only pinto beans as thats all I had. Hubby minced half a jalapeno, and we also added some chopped carrots and celery for more veggies. I used diced tomatoes with jalapeno, but it was not too spicy for us. I put in a can of beef broth and this made a huge pot! Glad we've got it for lunch now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2005
Oh my I love this soup!!! I used ground turkey though and omited the oil....didn't see reason to use that, and I buy my taco seasoning and ranch dressing in bulk at Sam's Club, so I threw in about a 1/4 cup or so of each *shrugs*....I also threw in some hot sauce for that extra zing....boy is this good! Top with shredded cheese. Mmmmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2008
This thick soup was a hit at my house. I did put in 1 can of beef broth, 2 cans of tomato sauce, left out the bell pepper, and added 1 small can of diced jalapenos. I also added a small package of frozen corn. I found this was a very easy recipe, although I did fry the beef, onion, and jalapenos together (I think the taste and texture of onions comes out better when it's cooked with beef rather than boiled.) before dumping everything into a big pot and simmering for 1/2 an hour. At the end I served it with diced avacados, grated cheddar cheese, and sour cream. mmmmmmmmm.....I think I need another bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2004
This recipe was pretty good. I added some black beans and sour cream and upped the amount of ranch dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
really good - I've been making this for quite some time and it is quite a bit better in the crock pot - excellent! Also, if you don't have a taco seasoning packet on hand, the taco seasoning recipe on this site is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alice Rainess Jordan

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2006
My husband absolutely LOVES this soup. It's one of his new faves. I've made up multiple batches of this and frozen it in mason jars (remember to leave head space at top of jar). Thanks for the GREAT recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catherine Wilson Hartmann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2005
This recipe is really easy and really good even my 3yr old son eats it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
Very good. I added a couple of tablespoons of finely minced pickled jalepeno. Easy weeknight supper. This is one of my husbands favorite soups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRANCIE63

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Living In: Merriam, Kansas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Taco Soup II

A flavorful taco soup with ground beef, taco seasoning, beans, and green chiles.

Slow Cooker Taco Soup

See how to make a 5-star, beefy taco soup with beans.

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States