Taco Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2007
Really, really good stuff!!! I substituted corn for the hominy and more kidney beans for the lima beans. I also added chopped fresh cilantro and sliced avocado on top - extremely tasty! The whole family liked this dinner so I will absolutely be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
236 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
Seriously, this is my favorite food. Ever. My mom always made it when I was little during the winter. I just made it again, and the best thing with this recipe: use your favorites! I put corn in it instead of lima beans, and I used jalapeños instead of chili peppers. I also made my own taco seasoning from a recipe on here (I think taco seasoning I) instead of the store package (I'm really big on my food being organic). I didn't add the ranch package either. Making my own seasoning made this even better than I could imagine! I love it with cheese and sour cream. Mmm, it's my guilty pleasure. And since there's only 2 of us here, this is enough for me to have dinner for a week or so, it's so good I don't mind eating it for days on end!! My boyfriend who hates beans even loves it! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
147 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vernylynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bristol, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2002
Add a dollop of sour cream for the kids to tone down the spices. I used Mexican stewed tomatoes, butter beans, and substituted frozen corn for the hominy. Serve with corn chips (and guacamole). Fresh cilantro is wonderful and really compliments this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
I adjusted this recipe to suit our favorite ingredients and to make it a little lower in salt. I did not add the additional salt, I used three cans of organic black beans that I rinsed and drained instead of pinto-lima-kidney beans. I made my own taco seasoning mix and ranch dressing mix (sans salt) and instead of water, I used a low sodium beef broth. When I got all the ingredients mixed, the soup looked a bit thin to me so I threw in two 14 oz. cans tomato sauce and two cans drained and rinsed white corn. This was nice to come home to after a long afternoon and we enjoyed it. I'll make this again, with my changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2006
This is AMAZING! I used shredded chicken instead of ground beef. (i'm not really a fan of ground beef so i think it made it better than it would have been otherwise) I also found that there wasnt quite enough liquid, so i doubled the water amount and therefore put in twice the amound of taco seasoning and ranch dressing mix. I also added a can of corn. It was fabulous! My husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2006
Terrific & easy. I added a can of beef broth and some chopped carrot, celery and shredded cabbage for more vegies. Skipped the hominy as hubby doesn't care for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2007
This was FANTASTIC! ...and healthy! I only used about a 3/4 lb of lean ground beef. I can't imagine using 2 lbs, I think it would be way too chunky to be considered soup. I left out the Lima beans and hominey but added a can of corn instead. Topped it with a sprinkle of cheddar, light sour cream, fresh lime juice, avacado and several tortilla chips. I thought the idea of ranch dressing mix was rather strange but the taste of this soup was really impressive. Healthy and rather inexpensive meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Melissajean
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2006
Quick, tasty and super easy! I used 1 lb each of ground beef and ground turkey. Also, 2 cans petite-diced garlic tomatoes and no lima beans (added a little extra white hominy to make up for it). I decreased pepper to 1/2 tsp. and added a little extra water to make it soupier. I salted to taste (salty already because of the seasonings-did not need anywhere near a teaspoon). Served with dollop of sour cream, cheddar cheese and cilantro. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissajean
Home Town: Alpine, California, USA
Living In: La Mesa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2005
Excellent recipe. Even my husband loved it. I followed the recipe except used mexican corn instead of hominy and used 2 cups of water. This will be a regular in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by apedawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
To all who are concerned about the sodium content, use homemade no salt taco seasoning, low sodium black beans rinced, low sodium tomatoes, and no salt. Buy low sodiun veggies and if you can't find any (Walmart sells a lot of low sodium veggies) rince them, that will lower the sodium content.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Taco Soup II

A flavorful taco soup with ground beef, taco seasoning, beans, and green chiles.

Slow Cooker Taco Soup

See how to make a 5-star, beefy taco soup with beans.

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States