Taco Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
Great recipe. I took the advise and added the corn and deleted the hominy beans. I sauteed the onions before putting them in the stew, because my kids hate them. I only used about a quarter of the onion. My kids never noticed they were in there. Followed the recipe and directions to the tee otherwise. Quick, easy, and taste great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Apple Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
This was SO good. Like a lot of other people, I added more water and did not add the lima beans. I REALLY did not like the beef in this because even though it was a sort of "chili" it was more of a soup still so next time if I add any meat at all I will add some shredded chicken. The seasonings were perfect and it was so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
With all those beans, it was more like chili than soup, but still very good anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mr. Big Business

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lonaconing, Maryland, USA
Living In: Warrenton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by 23DAISYS
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
I made a few changes to suit my husbands taste. He really only likes black beans, so I used 1 can of corn, 1 can of hominy and two cans of black beans instead of all the other beans. I used no salt added corn and beans and omitted the salt since other reviews said it came out salty. I also used cooked & diced chicken breast instead of ground beef to make it lower in fat. It was delish! I only gave four stars due to all my changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 23DAISYS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
3 stars for EASY -- but didn't produce the flavor that the title would imply...Not a bad combination of ingredients, just NOT very taco-flavored, and I even added more cumin, mexican oregano, etc. I think the ranch dressing mix toned down the taco taste and added a LOT of sodium this could really do without. Thanks anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
I spiced this up for my husband (added jalepenos and jalepeno powder) and kept it more mild for me. We both loved it! I used a chipotle taco seasoning, which was very tasty. Also, I used only 1.3 pounds of ground turkey, and omitted the lima beans. There didn't seem to be much broth even after those omissions, so I think leaving out one can of the beans was a good choice. I'm making it again tonight. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
Rated 4 stars because the recipe need MUCH more water (at least 3 cups) to reduce thickness, and it was still very hearty. I also added a small can of tomato paste, but I think I may add even more stewed tomatoes. Very tasty, I used shredded cheese and Baked Doritos as a topping. Had enough for 2 meals, 2 lunches and lots to give to a neighbor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marion, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
made it without the meat and added in some garlic with the onion. i also used a mix of garbanzo beans, black beans, hominy, and pintos, instead of following the recipe directly. and i added more water. yum! hearty and good for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
The ranch mix gives this taco soup a off taste. There is another taco soup on here that is great and almost like this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KO

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Holladay, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
This taco soup variation is one of my favorites. It's just so easy and so good, and is great leftover or even reheated after being frozen. Works well in the crock pot too, and is a favorite at office pot lucks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Joshua Tree, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Taco Soup II

A flavorful taco soup with ground beef, taco seasoning, beans, and green chiles.

Slow Cooker Taco Soup

See how to make a 5-star, beefy taco soup with beans.

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States