Taco Seasoning (without the chili powder) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
This was terrific!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
Excellent! I've used this over and over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Versailles, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Tomball, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
I just mixed this all up, and it smells wonderful! I'll be using it tonight. I'm not sure how much to put in, so I guess I'll experiment. Thanks for this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newark, Delaware, USA
Living In: Lake Stevens, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
How much of this do you use if a recipe calls for a package of taco seasoning?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
This is really good, except I omitted the salt. One huge advantage of making my own seasoning mixture is that I can control the sodium. In this case, I add the necessary salt to taste in each individual dish. If the dish contains salty ingredients like tomato sauce or cheese, often no additional salt is necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
Where I come from (Calif) Chili Powder is just that...the powder from dried, seeded ground chilies. At the big chain grocery stores I shop I find that Spice Island, Schillings and McCormick all have "Chili Powder" and there is only one ingredient...ground chilies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
McCormick chili powder: ingredients.....chili peppers,cumin, salt, oregano,garlic. Doesn't sound like 'ground peppers' to me......this recipe is much appreciated...thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
I come from a family of chili powder enthusiasts, so I've been raised to be a chili powder snob. I can say that there are mixes, and then there is real chili powder, which only uses dried chili pepper. I believe McCormick makes both, and both are under the guise of "Chili powder"-- the difference is really easy to taste. That said, I really liked this seasoning, especially the addition of oregano, which I never would have considered before. My husband loved the heat from the crushed red pepper flakes. I cut the salt in half, though-- I think it would have been too salty for me in the amount called for. Thanks for the recipe. It has inspired me to include oregano in my mother's traditional Mexican dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RowanaSabe

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
one ounce is 2 tablespoons which is usually what a packet of taco seasoning is. This is a great seasoning for tacos. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria Underwood

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
Oh my god! Oh my god! This was amazing and I can even adjust it for when I'm cooking for others that have to eat less spicy food but I think it's better than the prepackaged alternative.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Homemade Taco Seasoning Mix

A simple taco seasoning mix that’s lower in salt than packaged mixes.

Restaurant-Style Taco Meat Seasoning

Tastes just like a popular restaurant’s seasoning mix for beef tacos.

Fajita Seasoning

Turn simple spices into a flavorful fajita seasoning blend.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States