Taco Seasoning Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
This is an excellent mix and is very affordable. I however, chose to leave out the dried onions, dried garlic, the beef granules, and the salt. The beef granules tend to have MSG or additional salt and really doesn't change the taste. I did not find it too bland at all and liked using fresh onion and garlic, could also add green peppers for more flavor. I also left out the salt to reduce the amount of sodium and didn't miss it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
I have being mixing those ingredients and using almost in every meat that I cook. Very useful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ivonne
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
Perhaps the original recipe calls for 3 tsp of salt, rather than 3 tbs. The amount of cumin can be reduced to half as well. I use masa flour instead of cornstarch. Also, gotta use Mexican oregano.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
Delicious and EASY taco seasoning! I cut the salt WAY back- I prefer to salt food after cooking. I think I use less than 1Tb. I also cut back on the red pepper since my chili powder is a little spicier than most. I used Mrs. Dash in place of the oregano because I was out! I keep this in a mason jar in my cabinet at all times. I like that I can scale the amount of seasoning to the amount of meat that I want to cook, and I know exactly what is in my food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
Good recipe. I ommitted the red pepper flakes as the reason I was making and not buying was due to alleries in the family to red pepper. I added some cayenne pepper per another recipe. Agree with other reviewers about the salt. I tried 3 teaspoons rather than the 3 tablespoons in the recipe and stll think it was salty. Maybe my beef boulion granules are salty enough I am thinking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raven

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wellington , Wellington, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
Very good, but also salty. Will try to reduce salt next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2011
i ended up making 2 batches of this because the first one was way too salty. i doubled it and omitted the salt on the second batch and it seemed about perfect. I added some smoked paprika but that was the only additional spice. Thanks for the recipe as is though too salty sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soupisgoodfood33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
I will never buy the prepackaged mix again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SooperLowa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
I usually omit salt so I didn't run into the problem that others did with too much salt. However this recipe, while being hot, lacks flavor and needs some salt (that's coming from a non salt person!). I doubled the cumin but it is still bland. I think the 1/3 cup of water is perfect though. Also the addition of corn starch in this instead of flour makes a good consistency. I would suggest trying the taco seasoning 1 recipe instead of this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elusivek

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Goffstown, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
I really like this recipe, and use it all the time, as I usually have these ingredients on hand. The only change that I made was to eliminate the salt altogether. It is so easy to add salt as needed later, and we found this way too salty. Without the salt in the mix, it's perfect for us. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States