Taco Seasoning III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
This was pretty good seasoning. This makes enough to season 4 lbs. of ground meat, so I cut this down to a fourth (1 lb. meat's worth) I had to add about 1 1/4 c water then let it simmer about 12 minutes and it turned out so well that my hubby loved the taco meat! I thought it was a little too much chili powder or something, but they were still good, just not my favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
A great base: I upped the garlic to 3/4 tsp, the cumin to 2 tsp, and added 1 tsp of seasoning salt and it was SO close to the packets from the store. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2008
Excellent! I was out of taco seasoning pouch one day and we decided we wanted taco salads with ground beef. This ended up being perfect!!! Not sure if I'll buy anymore packets at the store! Yummo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lagrange, Georgia, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2008
I coated some chicken breasts in this mixture, then baked at 375 for 25 min. I then added some mexican cheese on top and baked another 5 min. This was mmm mmmm good. I can't wait to try this in ground beef for some tacos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2008
Can't mess this one up! I needed a mexican seasoning for chicken that would ultimately be shredded and go into a mexican casserole, so I made this only used onion powder, garlic poder, and omitted the cumin since I didn't have any. I was very loose with the measuring and it still turned out great. I threw in a dash of cayenne for some heat and my chicken turned out delicious. Can't screw this one up, people! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZZY9VOLT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2008
Don't confuse CHILI POWDER with CAYENNE PEPPER or you will end up with something that is too hot and spicy to eat. Chili powder is not hot. This is a great recipe. I love knowing what's in the food I cook so I use as few packages as possible. This is so easy and the flavor is fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Isabel, Texas, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2008
I ran out of the "store" taco seasoning. I thought dinner is ruined. Then I came to this site and found your recipe. Let's just say this saved dinner. We all loved the seasoning. It's a great blend of flavors. My husband said that it made the taco tasted so much better then the other "store" seasoning I was using. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
Recipe was very good. I used chipotle chili powder and it is very spicy. I thought the recipe called for way too much salt. too salty.; overall, very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Living In: Evanston, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
Not a fan at all as I like spicy when it comes to mexican and this is just too bland without any cayenne or chili powder. I did find a use for it with friend of mine who can't do much spicy at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
I did not like this at all. Weird, considering it's so well rated. It was just very boring. Maybe I forgot to add some ingredients. Oh well, I think I'll stick to Laury's fajita seasoning. It's really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BLUEBUG52

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whittier, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Taco Meat Seasoning

Tastes just like a popular restaurant’s seasoning mix for beef tacos.

Homemade Taco Seasoning Mix

A simple taco seasoning mix that’s lower in salt than packaged mixes.

Taco Seasoning I

See how to make your own five-star taco-seasoning mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States