Taco Seasoning III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
Yummy, this turned out great! I used this on ground beef to make tostadas. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
I love making this and my husband who doesn't like packaged taco seasoning likes this too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
It is not all supposed to be used at one time! Unless you are cooking about 5lbs of taco meat. Mix in jar or container and 1/2 cup of the mix is the equivalent to 1 package of store bought! To lessen any heat try adding a 1/4 tsp of sugar. If you do not want the whole cup of chili powder USE less. We loved them, Using only 1/2 cup of chili powder mixed all ingrediants together and store in an old parm cheese container.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
Very good mix. I reduce the salt to half. Basic ingredients that I always have on hand. I just pour what I need from the jar straight into the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clover

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
I reduced this recipe and had no problem with it being too hot. I admit that I added aspects of other recipes such as paprika and beef stock instead of water and we loved it! If an ingredient seems too extreme for you then it probably is! Adjust to your tolerance. A recipe is only a guide and shouldn't replace common sense. Wonderful recipe and thanks for sharing. :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheepy
Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
Excellent recipe! I live with a Cuban family that doesn't like hot foods so I left out the cayenne pepper and instead used regular black pepper, I added minced onions, oregano, seasoned salt and for the last missing ingredient for those who wish to know is 1/4 tsp. of sugar! PERFECTO!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
i made some of this last year in a big batch and we use it anytime we want a mexican flavor with ground beef or chicken - delicious, and sooo much cheaper and easier to store than those seasoning packets! thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorie Prior

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Gabriel, California, USA
Living In: Palo Alto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2010
Very yummy. I didn't have any dried minced garlic so I used 1/4 tsp of garlic powder instead. Don't think I will go back to using package seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JARRIE
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
This isn't bad. It isn't the greatest either. It's salty, and salt of a sort that is a waste of your allotment of salt for the day. Switch the 4 tsp salt for 3 tsp (or even 2 if you're used to a lower salt diet) of chicken bouillon (or beef bouillon, doesn't matter which, though beef is better if you're subbing turkey for beef). You can always experiment with other spices in your pantry as well -- cayenne for heat, cocoa for depth, etc. It's a good base to tweak to your own tastes! EDIT: 7/16/10: The most valuable thing about this recipe vs. the more popular "Taco Seasoning I" on this site is that *this* recipe remembers to add flour while the other does not. Flour (or cornmeal, or masa harina) helps your seasonings cook down & adhere to the meat. I use cornmeal because it also adds a good flavor, but you can use whichever. Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
I didn't think this was too hot, but it was overwhelmingly spicy/salty (just not particularly hot spicy), the proportion of spice mix to beef was all wrong. I could tell there was a problem as soon as I added the spice to the meat, the texture was all sticky and gloppy not the way it should be - at which point I felt like kicking myself for not starting with 2 tbsp and working up from there if necessary, like most other taco seasoning recipes call for. For now, I'm giving it two stars, and one of those is purely on hope that it will taste better when the proportion of spice to beef is changed, but this time it was inedible. I have a houseful of taco lovers, but no one could eat these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Taco Meat Seasoning

Tastes just like a popular restaurant’s seasoning mix for beef tacos.

Homemade Taco Seasoning Mix

A simple taco seasoning mix that’s lower in salt than packaged mixes.

Taco Seasoning I

See how to make your own five-star taco-seasoning mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States