Taco Seasoning II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
Use it all the time. No need to buy it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
I wish I could rate this better, but it's extremely bland. Just not very flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
I love this taco seasoning....especially because I can add the amount of salt I like...the store bought types are always too salty.I did make one change to the recipe...for the paprika...I used 2 teaspoons of the regular kind, and then I used 1 teaspoon each of bitter-sweet smoked paprika, hot smoked paprika & regular smoked paprika!I double the batch whenever I make this & store it in a mason jar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by H1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Sudbury, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2012
I just made this based on the ingredient list. I made it exactly as the recipe indicated. The seasonings work well together. The reason I gave it 3-stars is it is BLAND!!! I am still going to use this as my new taco seasoning recipe, however, I will either pre-season the meat with a little salt as I cook it. I typically season by site and rarely use mixes. I also added 2 tsp of salt to the remaining mixture. I may have to adjust it down the road when I use it again as I haven't tested it yet with the salt addition. It really is a good recipe, but it does need salt! Adding some will still be substantially less than what would be in a store-bought packet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
Good to have on hand instead of always buying the packets, although I added salt to taste (and more cayenne for spice, and more cumin). Hubby liked it, said it was the best tasting tacos to date. I like the made-from-scratch feel of using my own taco seasoning mix. Glad I found this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
This gets 3 stars for no salt, but it's not nearly as good as the worst of the store packets. It is seriously lacking in flavor and would need a lot more chili powder and other spices to make it worth eating. I'll keep looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lucylove

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wesley Chapel, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
This is really good I added in extra garlic & onion and cayenne pepper and extra cornstarch & water to give it some broth as the packaged mixes do(the kids like the packaged taco seasoning) . The kids didnt know the difference. I had tried some others they didnt like so this is our new taco seasoning
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
I made this for the Bean N Beef Crescent Pie I made tonight for dinner. Worked perfectly, and it's tasty. I ran out of onion powder, though, so I subbed minced onion flakes for the rest. thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
I use this taco seasoning all the time now instead of the packets. I love that it has plenty of flavor and no salt. The packets of taco seasoning are loaded with salt and all kinds of preservatives and artificial ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
This is a really great base taco seasoning, but it isn't quite the same as the seasoning packets you can buy at the store. I found that when you add the water and mix in the seasoning, it doesn't thicken the way store bought packets do. And the flavor isn't quite as strong. Ive found that adding a little extra corn starch, chili powder, and cayenne pepper after using this base seasoning helps to kick up and thicken things.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Taco Meat Seasoning

Tastes just like a popular restaurant’s seasoning mix for beef tacos.

Homemade Taco Seasoning Mix

A simple taco seasoning mix that’s lower in salt than packaged mixes.

Taco Seasoning I

See how to make your own five-star taco-seasoning mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States