Taco Seasoning II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2004
Great mix! I added 2 Tbl. salt and used twice the amount. It was great. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2004
Maybe I overdid the water I added when I cooked my meat, but this really didn't have much flavor to it. It smells better than the packet, but I prefer the taste of the packet. I still have some left, and will try using it again, but adding less water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gordon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2003
Adding the extra salt and pepper was a good touch. It came out very well, not too spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2003
I found this to be a great starter recipe, that you can twick to your own taste. Also, I found that the recommended 7tsp to one envelope was a bit heavy. Next time I will start around 4tsp and add more if needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2003
I used this in "taco rice" recipe from this site. Although this taco seasoning wasn't a huge hit in that recipe, it is a pretty good taco seasoning overall and I would use this again when sauting chicken or beef. It's really mild (which pleased my family) but good. I too added 1/2 tsp of salt, which helped this out alot. I don't think it tastes quite the same as the store-bought stuff, but then again, I don't think the store bought stuff is top notch either. Liked the "uniqueness" of this recipe...thanks Waco Kid!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2003
I was not impressed by this at all, I think it was very bland compared to the store brands. I definitely agree w/ other reviewers, salt and pepper are needed in addition to what the recipe already calls for. I really wouldn't recommend anyone use this recipe unless they like bland taco's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MLCANFIELD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Webberville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2003
Did a good job. A bit bland, you may want to add more cayenne or just make sure to serve with hot sauce in certain dishes. Do add salt if you like salt, but this way you can make the decision yourself. Thickened just fine, in fact maybe a bit faster than the packaged stuff. Used 1lb ground beef and simmered for 15 mins with 1 cup water, 7 tsp this mix to make tacoes for 4 people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alarose

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2003
I ran out of my usual taco seasoning from this site, and since my market was having a half price sale on all spices and herbs, I decided to give this recipe a try. Glad I did! This is great and tastes just like my favorite store bought brand. The big plus is its healthier and more inexpensive than store bought. Thanks WACO KID!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2003
I decided to try this because my 11 year old complained that the seasoning that I usually use "taco seasoning" from this site, is too hot. I was a little leary to try this because of the corn starch, but I was wrong! I did add some salt to taste, but recieved rave reviews from all the kids, including a very picky 22 month old (who ate his whole taco...well the filling anyway). Thanks Waco Kid!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2003
Great! I was making a casserole that required taco seasoning and I didn't have any on hand...and once again Allrecipes came to the rescue!! This is very very close to packaged taco seasoning. The only change I made was to add salt, and than it was perfect. Remember though, this is only good if your spices are fresh and aromatic. Thanks Waco Kid for a helpful and economical recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mollycurls77

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bridgewater, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Taco Meat Seasoning

Tastes just like a popular restaurant’s seasoning mix for beef tacos.

Homemade Taco Seasoning Mix

A simple taco seasoning mix that’s lower in salt than packaged mixes.

Taco Seasoning I

See how to make your own five-star taco-seasoning mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States