Taco Seasoning I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
I was happy to find this. I have a black pepper allergy and my husband is on a reduced salt diet so it is great to be able to make this omitting the pepper and using lite salt. We love cumin and was happy to see it included. Years ago I would add more to the packets. I made it with New Mexico red chili powder. The tacos were delishish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Alamogordo, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
Honestly, this recipe is definitely not as good as the taco seasoning packets you buy at the store. It lacks zest and tastes bland. I made it exactly as the recipe said. But it works if you are in a pinch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
This is really great! No contest so much better than packaged mix. I used fine sea salt and next time will cut the salt as one reviewer noted sea salt is not an even swap. Also used less chili powder, added small amount chicken bullion paste w a little water and subbed 1/8 tsp of cayenne for red pepper flakes (not sure my kid could handle the flakes) per other reviewers suggestions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
Great flavor and fresh!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
Great, fresh flavor with ingredients on hand. I followed exactly; however, my oregano was Mexican oregano. Will use again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
This is a very good taco season mix. I will not buy it prepackaged again. If you don't like it a little spicy you should cut back on red pepper flakes just a little. We liked it just as written. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
Really good. Spicy, but that's the way it should be!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nonarina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
omg this is fabulous for chicken quesadillas...sooooooo gooooooooooood!!! Thanks for sharing Raquel :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
Love this! I hate buying pre-made mixes that have a bunch of additives and unnecessary junk in them so this is a great DIY. I am a cumin lover so I add about 2 tablespoons of that but that is my only change. Lately I have been just throwing some chicken in the crockpot and covering it with this mixture and cooking it for 4 hours on high or 8 on low then shredding it for chicken tacos. It comes out CRAZY GOOD!! I also use the chicken for taco or burrito "bowls". I have used both boneless/skinless breast and thighs and I think for this particular recipe the thighs come out on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JamieG
Home Town: Kingsville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
Awesome!! Like another reviewer said...3 tbsp/1lb of meat with 2/3 cup water!! Yummo! Never going back to packaged.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaSarah

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 3,177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Taco Seasoning Mix

A simple taco seasoning mix that’s lower in salt than packaged mixes.

Restaurant-Style Taco Meat Seasoning

Tastes just like a popular restaurant’s seasoning mix for beef tacos.

Taco Seasoning I

See how to make your own five-star taco-seasoning mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States