Taco Seasoning I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 5, 2015
I loved this recipe. After coming from the grocery store, I realized that I didn't have the packaged stuff so I rushed to my computer to find a homemade taco seasoning mixture and this one came up. As I looked at the ingredients, I realized that I had all of the ingredients, so I thought. I substituted cayenne pepper for the pepper flakes since my daughter doesn't like food that is too spicy. Also, I didn't have any chili powder so mixed all of the dry spices in a bowl before adding them to my chopped chicken and once I added the mixture to the partially cooked chicken, I poured some refrigerated Chili Sauce directly on the meat in the skillet and let it simmer in with the rest of the spices. It was delicious! No more packages for this momma on taco night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2015
this is a wonderful taco seasoning! try adding 1/4 tsp of coriander to it for a brighter flavor. this is great with ground chicken, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2015
I have used this recipe numerous times and I absolutely love it! We will never go back to the packaged mix again. I use the entire amount listed in the recipe for one pound of ground beef and the flavor is wonderful. The only slight tweak I make is using 1/8 tsp. of cayenne pepper instead of 1/4 tsp. of crushed red pepper flakes only because that's what I have on-hand and we don't like things too spicy. I also add 2 tsp. of cornstarch to the dry spices to help everything thicken up while cooking. I add the spice/cornstarch mixture to one pound of browned, well-drained ground beef and then add 2/3 C of water. Bring it to a simmer for a few minutes and voila! Best tasting tacos EVER! Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2015
Very good sub for the packet. I like that it doesn't contain sugar or any weird additives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2015
This is the same recipe anywhere on the internet that you look. It has way too much cumin. I made it as written and the cumin ruined the meat. I only used 2 TBSP of the finished produce per pound of meat. I should have just bought the packaged stuff, butt we are gluten free and I like to avoid packaged items. DaleP
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2015
Excellent! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana Barsan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2015
I've never tried making my own, but forgot to buy one of those packets. I got lucky, though, and happened to have all the ingredients. This was really delicious. I used Kosher salt, since that's what I have, and left out the pepper flakes, because I don't like the spice. But I'll never buy those packets again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2015
Really really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Hardyman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2015
The ingredients list gave me a starting point but I changed at least half of the amounts, so I can't rate it 5 stars. Here's what I did: (For about 4 lbs of beef) 2 tbs cumin 2 tbs chili powder 1 tbs onion powder 1 tbs garlic powder 1 tbs Himalayan pink salt (saltier than table salt I think) 1 tsp black pepper 1 tsp red pepper flakes 1 tsp dried oregano 2 tsp paprika Very delicious. Saving this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laurel, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2015
Delicious! Used this whole recipe with one Costco packet of ground turkey and it was amazing! Kids said it was better than Taco Bell (they love Taco Bell so that's actually a really good compliment!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Jordan, Utah, USA
Living In: Yorktown, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 3,492) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Homemade Taco Seasoning Mix

A simple taco seasoning mix that’s lower in salt than packaged mixes.

Restaurant-Style Taco Meat Seasoning

Tastes just like a popular restaurant’s seasoning mix for beef tacos.

Taco Seasoning I

See how to make your own five-star taco-seasoning mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States