Taco Seasoning I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
I had every ingredient for this- EXCEPT the crushed red pepper flakes which I am not a fan of! But I was SO happy! But even happier after making the tacos! This recipe is beyond excellent! I did not use salt- I think the chili powder has a "salty" taste on its own (there is no salt in it) ... so I omitted the salt here. Just as I do with home-made fajita seasoning- I do not include salt for health reasons. Here is a tip- for those whom enjoy spicier tacos / latin meals---- use 3 or 4 drops of Tapatio hot sauce when the ground beef is done - just before you add this awesome seasoning. Maybe 3 for starters. Tapatio is NOT hot but just "warm" enough for a bit of a kick. I do not suggest american hot sauces for Latin food. BUT- back to this recipe....I measured everything just as listed and it was fantastic. I felt so good about making a seasoning on my own without the sodium that is contained in manufactured, " store-bought" seasonings. The cumin is the beauty here. And yes I did use black pepper. I simply had the stuff in my kitchen to make these tacos magic. I kid you not! Try and enjoy! Even if you have to go and buy these seasonings- you can find them at very low prices. Some less than a dollar! Its well worth it for your health and for the unique, fresh taste of something home-made- instead of a taco "kit" or a manufactured brand of seasoning---oh! ....wait....one tip,,,,add just 1/3 cup ?? of water and simmer until evaporated. GOOD LUCK! and ,,,,Peace and love- "Jenny"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
Oh man.....i used fresh oregano in this recipe and used about 3 TBLS for my 1 lbs of burger and it was hands down the best tacos ever! I plan to make this in bulk and never buy the pre-packaged stuff again! YUMMY!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
Make it all the time, cutting out fat I used turkey meat and adds so much flavor! The seasoning is perfect. Magnificent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
Perfection! I made four times the amount and have it stored. One thing I added was 1 tsp corn starch diluted in 1/2 cup cold water and added at the end to thicken it up. I use grass fed beef so it is very lean and quite dry so this added some moisture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amhab

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
I've been using this taco seasoning for a couple years now. The taste and amount of spice is perfect! Not to mention it's cheaper and healthier than the store bought stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
So easy and so awesome! I don't care for anything spicy so I left off the red pepper flakes and it was perfectly seasoned. Will definitely use this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
I'm not a fan of taco mix from the store, this one however is the perfect blend. It takes the guess work out of standing at the stove, tasting your dinner and trying to figure out what you are missing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
Oh this recipe was perfect! I put it into a container and it keeps really well. Not to mention saves me from buying those terrible pre-mix packets! Thanks! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanwrap

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
I love it! Delicious! It makes Tacos wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 3,259) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Taco Seasoning Mix

A simple taco seasoning mix that’s lower in salt than packaged mixes.

Restaurant-Style Taco Meat Seasoning

Tastes just like a popular restaurant’s seasoning mix for beef tacos.

Taco Seasoning I

See how to make your own five-star taco-seasoning mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States