Taco Salad III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2015
Nice summer dinner. I subbed kidney beans out of personal preference. I used a sweet Vidalia onion tomato dressing and it was perfect for this. I skipped the chips but added a dollop of sour cream. Served instant Mexican rice on the side for a quick, throw-together, too hot to slave over a stove kind of evening. Next time I'll cook up the meat in the morning for more flavor and possibly add cilantro to brighten it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missdrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 24, 2015
This recipe is awesome! The best out there. However there is one thing I do different that makes a big difference. After cooking the ground beef and adding the taco seasoning, I then add the beans and the Catalina dressing. This is refrigerated over night. The meat soaks up the dressing so it's not too soggy. The day of serving add the other ingredients. I then crush taco flavored Doritos and add them right before serving. If you had chips to any portion that will be left over, they will be soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2015
This was a delicious, one-dish salad for supper. I preferred just adding all of the ingredients to the top of the butter lettuce mix I had as opposed to mixing them all up. I'm sure that would work great for a crowd, though. I used leftover sloppy joe mix, because I like to use what I have on hand. In place of the pinto beans, I used light red kidney beans. I liberally sprinkled homemade taco seasoning mix over the salad before adding the dressing. The Catalina dressing works really well here, and I used my own homemade version from another site. I also used tortilla chips instead of corn chips. Thanks for the great recipe, Melanie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
This was very good. I did everything as written. The only thing I would change next time is to reduce the amount of red onion, or perhaps dice it instead of slicing it. It was just a but much. Otherwise, very yummy! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ilikefrenchies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 9, 2014
My guests loved this dish and asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
Very good. Mixed the pintos into the meat mixture. Served everything on the side so everyone could add what they liked. And I could keep the salad and it would be good the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
Oh my gosh, the dressing is soooo good! I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
VERY GOOD.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Marcos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2013
Delicious, only used one can of black beans instead of kidney and pinto beans. Makes a lot of salad I halved the recipe and we still had lots left but its not a salad that's good the second day. I also made the salad again later on in the week and made it vegetarian by adding taco seasoning to my can of beans. Still tasted great. Another tip is I use the taco seasoning recipe on this site and make a large batch of it, you will never have to buy those individual packets again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2013
I have used a recipe like this for 35 years. Anyone who doesn't like this try using ranch dressing!!!! I'm sure you will give it a 10 star rating. Sure to hit the spot on a hot day. Thanks Melanie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Taco Salad I

See how to make a delicious taco salad with a twist.

Taco Soup II

A flavorful taco soup with ground beef, taco seasoning, beans, and green chiles.

Chicken Salad with Bacon, Lettuce, and Tomato

Kickin' chicken BLT salad, oh my!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States