Taco Salad II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 8, 2002
First off----DO NOT REFRIGERATE OVERNIGHT!!! What you can do is prepare the lettuce, tomatoes, cheese, onion & pepper ahead of time. The meat can be prepared ahead of time too. But toss in the dressing, chips and meat just before serving and you'll have a much better salad. I personally left out the onions & peppers and used Catalina dressing instead. It's a tasty salad if done right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
123 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2001
I have been making this taco salad for years, but instead of using French dressing, use Western dressing & also for tortilla chips, use Dorito Taco flavored chips. This gives it a little bit more flavor. My family & friends go crazy for this taco salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
114 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2004
I have also been making this for years, and I would have to agree with a previous review, that this salad tastes best with Western Salad Dressing (not quite the whole bottle) and Taco flavored Doritos. I also prepare just before serving. I always add a can of chili beans undrained and chopped avocado and sliced black olives. I don't put the chips in until the last second. This gets soggy quickly. Sometimes I omit the meat and nobody notices. Sometimes I add chopped green onion instead. Whew, this is sounding like a whole other recipe! But, it's really just versatile. Anyway, this is ALWAYS the first to go at potlucks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2006
This salad is fantastic! I have been making this for a while and I love it! The only changes that I made to this salad is that I used light/low fat Nacho Cheese Doritos and reduced fat cheese – you can’t tell the difference at all when it is all mixed together! I also used Western dressing, it tastes really good. The actual recipe states to refrigerate overnight – DO NOT do this because it will get soggy. Since I can’t eat the whole salad at once I chop up all the ingredients and keep in separate baggies and when you are ready to eat just throw everything into your salad dish (I usually heat up the taco meat in the microwave for a minute) and you are ready to eat. WONDERFUL!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2005
This was gone before people had a chance to realize it was there! I heeded the advice of others and did not refrigerate overnight. I used Taco flavor doritos which gave it kick and didn't mix everything until the last minute to ensure it wasn't soggy. I crushed the chips and put them in a container, put the hamb./veggs. in separate containers, brought containers and a bottle of dressing to the barbeque, and mixed everthing when I got there. It was PERFECT ...only disappointment was that it went so quickly!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rolanda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lynn, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Malden, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2002
Very good recipe! I added extra onions to the beef as it browned, as my family loves onions, and left it warm, since there was no need to let cool or to let the salad sit overnight. And instead of French dressing, I mixed Ranch dressing with a bit of taco sauce, and it worked out even better. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2002
I was asked to bring a side dish to our Mother's Day gathering and stumbled across this. I used Fritos instead of tortilla chips and added an extra cup of cheese (I'm from Wisconsin so the more the better!). It turned out great. Everyone loved it. I found it's also good heated up. I'll definately be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2003
Terrific taco salad! Like others i added chips before serving. I ate right away and did not let this sit overnight. I used Aunt Betty's French Dressing recipe i found on here. Terrific stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Loomis, California, USA
Living In: Stockton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2003
I definitely agree with LORIMAZ on the overnight refrigeration issue; unless of course you enjoy soggy salad. We like ours crisp, so I saw no need to prepare ahead of time. I did add more seasonings and onion to the beef mixture and the meal was a hit. Good recipe Susan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2002
This was pretty good. It think it needed a little more taco seasoning and/or chili powder to give it some "zing". I used Doritos instead of plain taco chips. Definitely Do Not put in the chips until you are ready to serve, they will just get soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Taco Salad I

See how to make a delicious taco salad with a twist.

Taco Pie

All your favorite taco fixings in a yummy, cheesy casserole.

Taco Pizza from Pillsbury® Pizza Crust

Taco and pizza nights come together in one delicious, cheesy pizza.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States