Taco Salad II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 9, 2000
Very good flavor, and easy to make. My husband doubted the recipe but now requests it often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2001
I have been making this taco salad for years, but instead of using French dressing, use Western dressing & also for tortilla chips, use Dorito Taco flavored chips. This gives it a little bit more flavor. My family & friends go crazy for this taco salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
115 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2001
What an easy delicious summer/winter meal! Our grandchildren love it...My daughter now includes it on the weeknight menu! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2001
This is the best taco salad ever. Even better than Perkins' taco salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2002
First off----DO NOT REFRIGERATE OVERNIGHT!!! What you can do is prepare the lettuce, tomatoes, cheese, onion & pepper ahead of time. The meat can be prepared ahead of time too. But toss in the dressing, chips and meat just before serving and you'll have a much better salad. I personally left out the onions & peppers and used Catalina dressing instead. It's a tasty salad if done right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
125 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2002
I was asked to bring a side dish to our Mother's Day gathering and stumbled across this. I used Fritos instead of tortilla chips and added an extra cup of cheese (I'm from Wisconsin so the more the better!). It turned out great. Everyone loved it. I found it's also good heated up. I'll definately be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2002
This is a great salad. I agree with another reviewer that you shouldn't let the chips sit in this salad overnight. We ate ours immediately and it was really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA
Living In: Delray Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2002
This was pretty good. It think it needed a little more taco seasoning and/or chili powder to give it some "zing". I used Doritos instead of plain taco chips. Definitely Do Not put in the chips until you are ready to serve, they will just get soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2002
Very good recipe! I added extra onions to the beef as it browned, as my family loves onions, and left it warm, since there was no need to let cool or to let the salad sit overnight. And instead of French dressing, I mixed Ranch dressing with a bit of taco sauce, and it worked out even better. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2003
I definitely agree with LORIMAZ on the overnight refrigeration issue; unless of course you enjoy soggy salad. We like ours crisp, so I saw no need to prepare ahead of time. I did add more seasonings and onion to the beef mixture and the meal was a hit. Good recipe Susan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Taco Salad I

See how to make a delicious taco salad with a twist.

Taco Soup II

A flavorful taco soup with ground beef, taco seasoning, beans, and green chiles.

BLT Salad

Croutons, crispy bacon, and a creamy dressing, this salad has the BLT beat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States