Taco Salad II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2005
I have also been making this recipe for a few years now, but I prefer to use the Catalina dressing. And refrigerate overnight?? That had to be a misprint. Soggy lettuce, soggy cheese, soggy chips... gross. I assemble it all, and add the dressing shortly before serving, and put the cheese on last. This is an excellent dish to serve with quesadillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2005
This is very, very good. I use the bagged lettuce. I do not know what the refrigerate overnight business is about. Why would anyone want soggy tortilla chips on purpose? This is easily customizable. I use Catalina dressing. Very fun recipe for us to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2005
This was an excellent recipe. I substituted turkey burger, fat free cheese, low fat dressing, and baked tortilla chips. It was amazing. My husband and I love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2004
This was very good. We didn't use any dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Federalsburg, Maryland, USA
Living In: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2004
This is a perfect use for left-over taco meat. We served this over shredded lettuce minus the green pepper and rather than mixing it up, we made sort of an assembly line, everyone adding what they like. Also, a dressing of equal amounts of picante sauce and ranch dressing is fabulous on this salad. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2004
This salad is just what I was craving! I took the advice of others and added 1 avocado & 1 can drained kidney beans. I used Nacho cheese Doritos instead of the plain ones. Too much onion - I used 1/2 onion istead. And most importantly - SERVE IT IMMEDIATELY. The chips and lettuce get soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHERYL UTLEY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2004
I have also been making this for years, and I would have to agree with a previous review, that this salad tastes best with Western Salad Dressing (not quite the whole bottle) and Taco flavored Doritos. I also prepare just before serving. I always add a can of chili beans undrained and chopped avocado and sliced black olives. I don't put the chips in until the last second. This gets soggy quickly. Sometimes I omit the meat and nobody notices. Sometimes I add chopped green onion instead. Whew, this is sounding like a whole other recipe! But, it's really just versatile. Anyway, this is ALWAYS the first to go at potlucks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2003
It had a good flavor and it's what I remember at church picnics growing up, but I think then I would just eat little bits with other things and that is what made it so delicious. Having it just for a meal almost made me sick because it was too much. I wasn't to crazy about the french dressing I used, but I'll experiment with that. Things always taste better when someone else makes it. :-) This was overall a great recipe and I think I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anderson, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2003
This was good, everyone ate full portions and said that they would be happy with it again. Not enough to cause great excitement so I will give it four stars. I did wait and add the chips (Taco Dorito's) when I was serving and have to agree that is the way it needs to be done. All in all would be good once a month.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2003
My version is very close and has been a family favorite for years. Never refrigerate overnight , too soggy. I use cheese flavored Dorritos and add them last. I also add 1 can chopped black olives and 1 can red kidney beans (rinse), very good. Great dish for potluck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Taco Salad I

See how to make a delicious taco salad with a twist.

Restaurant-Style Taco Meat Seasoning

Tastes just like a popular restaurant’s seasoning mix for beef tacos.

Taco Casserole

This cheesy, family favorite is the perfect weeknight casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States