Taco Salad II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2006
I didn't use French Dressing as I did not have it, as suggested by a previous review I used Ranch Dressing and Salsa. This was delicious!! I don't know why the recipe says to refrigerate overnight. Eat this as soon as you make it as it does not keep well and you will just end up throwing it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2006
Make this all the time, especially with that leftover taco meat. The red dressing gives it a different flavor than one usually expects, but it is good. I usualy add some kidney beans and use dorito cheese chips instead of the tortilla. We really liked it with the changes I made. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2006
The best taco salad recipe I've ever tried. We are big fans! This will be in our family cookbook. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Auburndale, Florida, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2006
My mom has been making this for years and now I make it for a quick weeknight dinner. We use Catalina dressing or no dressing with a dollop of lt. sour cream. The actual recipe we have also states to refrgerate over night...I DO NOT recommend this. We tried it and unless you like soggy, wet, wilted salad, forgo that step. Otherwise, very tasy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2006
This was a simple dish and very good but I made a few changes to suit my family. I added some chopped onion and jalapeno to the ground beef as it was browning. I didn't use any green pepper(we don't use it on tacos)and added olives. I also used the dressing from another recipe, 1/2 cup mayonnaise, 1/4 cup salsa or taco sauce and a few drops of hot sauce(tapatio, tabasco). Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rob & Kara's Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2006
This is very tasty and easy. I used Italian dressing instead and added some avacado. This is great for a quick meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2006
very nice. of course, as everyone else has pointed out, you should not make it the night before, but combine ingredients just before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Delta, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Princeton, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2006
I used to make this a long time ago. I used a bottle of catalina dressing and a bag of doritos(ala minute).It makes ALOT and looks bad, but tastes great and gets many compliments!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jwiki02

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2005
We've been making this same recipe for years, except we use Thousand Island Dressing and ,of course, serve it immediately. Yummm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STACERP
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2005
This was gone before people had a chance to realize it was there! I heeded the advice of others and did not refrigerate overnight. I used Taco flavor doritos which gave it kick and didn't mix everything until the last minute to ensure it wasn't soggy. I crushed the chips and put them in a container, put the hamb./veggs. in separate containers, brought containers and a bottle of dressing to the barbeque, and mixed everthing when I got there. It was PERFECT ...only disappointment was that it went so quickly!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rolanda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lynn, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Malden, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Taco Salad I

See how to make a delicious taco salad with a twist.

Taco Soup II

A flavorful taco soup with ground beef, taco seasoning, beans, and green chiles.

Restaurant-Style Taco Meat Seasoning

Tastes just like a popular restaurant’s seasoning mix for beef tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States