Taco Salad II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2006
I love taco salad and I wanted to find a good easy recipe for one. I just made and tried this today and I LOVE it! I am having a party Labor Day weekend and I will be making this one for sure. I used ground turkey and I do agree for best results to serve this dish right after making it. I will continue to make this for years to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2006
This salad is fantastic! I made it as an extra dish to have at my son's birthday party and it quickly became the favorite choice --even for the kids! I've never received so many compliments on something I've made and I would recommend it to everyone. I did make some changes -- as many reviewers recommended, I did not refrigerate overnight and think it would definitely be a mistake to do so. I did chop all the veggies the night before which made it very easy to prepare right before the party. I used extra lean ground turkey (99% fat free) and fat free catalina dressing. I used red onions and substituted nacho flavor doritos. The dressing and the doritos definitely made it tasty. This recipe is a winner -- I will make it often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2006
Great quick meal. I added corn and black beans and substituted salsa for the tomatoes and red onion for the regular onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2006
I never had a taco salad with french dressing before. SO I was a little bit skeptical. However it turned out wonderful. I followed the recipe exactly and all my family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2006
This salad is fantastic! I have been making this for a while and I love it! The only changes that I made to this salad is that I used light/low fat Nacho Cheese Doritos and reduced fat cheese – you can’t tell the difference at all when it is all mixed together! I also used Western dressing, it tastes really good. The actual recipe states to refrigerate overnight – DO NOT do this because it will get soggy. Since I can’t eat the whole salad at once I chop up all the ingredients and keep in separate baggies and when you are ready to eat just throw everything into your salad dish (I usually heat up the taco meat in the microwave for a minute) and you are ready to eat. WONDERFUL!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2006
I am a total beginner cook -- completely clueless -- and I don't knwo what I'd do without allrecipes.com! I was craving taco salad, and this was exactly what I wanted. It was a big hit with my husband, too, who looked skeptical when I told him what was for dinner.... I used "Restaurant-Style Taco Meat Seasoning" submitted by GVSWIFE on this site for the meat (delicious!) and, as other's recommended, "Aunt Betty's French Dressing" by Maggie Lynch. I left the onions kind of chunky in the dressing (my blender broke), so I omitted onions from the salad. I also added some black olives and kidney beans because my daughter loves them. I think this salad was so good I will proudly bring it to the next family function potluck. (I heeded everyone's advice NOT to refridgerate it overnight) Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetiebird

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2006
We really enjoyed this for dinner. Made a few adjustments to suit our tastes - sauteed the onion with the ground beef, used a bagged lettuce mix and a can of diced tomatoes with green chilies for convenience sake, subbed a yellow pepper for green due to personal taste, and used Thousand Island dressing. Also, we just crumbled the tortilla chips into each individual bowl and poured a little dressing over top so that the leftovers would keep for lunch today. Delicious and very easy, thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookntaste

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Greenville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2006
I didn't use French Dressing as I did not have it, as suggested by a previous review I used Ranch Dressing and Salsa. This was delicious!! I don't know why the recipe says to refrigerate overnight. Eat this as soon as you make it as it does not keep well and you will just end up throwing it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2006
Make this all the time, especially with that leftover taco meat. The red dressing gives it a different flavor than one usually expects, but it is good. I usualy add some kidney beans and use dorito cheese chips instead of the tortilla. We really liked it with the changes I made. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2006
The best taco salad recipe I've ever tried. We are big fans! This will be in our family cookbook. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Auburndale, Florida, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Taco Salad I

See how to make a delicious taco salad with a twist.

Restaurant-Style Taco Meat Seasoning

Tastes just like a popular restaurant’s seasoning mix for beef tacos.

Taco Casserole

This cheesy, family favorite is the perfect weeknight casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States