Taco Salad II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2006
This is better if you prepare the salad and let that chill in the fridge and then add hot meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2006
Delicious and so easy to throw together! I've made this twice already and will probably make it again next week. I added olives and fiesta corn and next time I think I might try throwing in Doritos like other reviewers have suggested. Since we have different taste buds in our family I left the salad without dressing and let everyone add it themselves so they could pick and choose what they wanted. My personal favorite is Spicy Ranch from Hidden Valley. It's really not spicy at all but it has a great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2006
i made this tonight. i added onion and garlic to the beef. i also added garbanzo beans, kidney beans, black olives along with the ingredients listed. The doritos really give the salad a great punch and the different layers of flavors is really nice. i will definately be making this again for a nice week night meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seal Beach, California, USA
Living In: South Glastonbury, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2006
I love taco salad and I wanted to find a good easy recipe for one. I just made and tried this today and I LOVE it! I am having a party Labor Day weekend and I will be making this one for sure. I used ground turkey and I do agree for best results to serve this dish right after making it. I will continue to make this for years to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2006
This salad is fantastic! I made it as an extra dish to have at my son's birthday party and it quickly became the favorite choice --even for the kids! I've never received so many compliments on something I've made and I would recommend it to everyone. I did make some changes -- as many reviewers recommended, I did not refrigerate overnight and think it would definitely be a mistake to do so. I did chop all the veggies the night before which made it very easy to prepare right before the party. I used extra lean ground turkey (99% fat free) and fat free catalina dressing. I used red onions and substituted nacho flavor doritos. The dressing and the doritos definitely made it tasty. This recipe is a winner -- I will make it often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2006
Great quick meal. I added corn and black beans and substituted salsa for the tomatoes and red onion for the regular onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2006
I never had a taco salad with french dressing before. SO I was a little bit skeptical. However it turned out wonderful. I followed the recipe exactly and all my family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2006
This salad is fantastic! I have been making this for a while and I love it! The only changes that I made to this salad is that I used light/low fat Nacho Cheese Doritos and reduced fat cheese – you can’t tell the difference at all when it is all mixed together! I also used Western dressing, it tastes really good. The actual recipe states to refrigerate overnight – DO NOT do this because it will get soggy. Since I can’t eat the whole salad at once I chop up all the ingredients and keep in separate baggies and when you are ready to eat just throw everything into your salad dish (I usually heat up the taco meat in the microwave for a minute) and you are ready to eat. WONDERFUL!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2006
I am a total beginner cook -- completely clueless -- and I don't knwo what I'd do without allrecipes.com! I was craving taco salad, and this was exactly what I wanted. It was a big hit with my husband, too, who looked skeptical when I told him what was for dinner.... I used "Restaurant-Style Taco Meat Seasoning" submitted by GVSWIFE on this site for the meat (delicious!) and, as other's recommended, "Aunt Betty's French Dressing" by Maggie Lynch. I left the onions kind of chunky in the dressing (my blender broke), so I omitted onions from the salad. I also added some black olives and kidney beans because my daughter loves them. I think this salad was so good I will proudly bring it to the next family function potluck. (I heeded everyone's advice NOT to refridgerate it overnight) Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetiebird

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2006
We really enjoyed this for dinner. Made a few adjustments to suit our tastes - sauteed the onion with the ground beef, used a bagged lettuce mix and a can of diced tomatoes with green chilies for convenience sake, subbed a yellow pepper for green due to personal taste, and used Thousand Island dressing. Also, we just crumbled the tortilla chips into each individual bowl and poured a little dressing over top so that the leftovers would keep for lunch today. Delicious and very easy, thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookntaste

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Greenville, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Taco Salad I

See how to make a delicious taco salad with a twist.

Taco Soup II

A flavorful taco soup with ground beef, taco seasoning, beans, and green chiles.

Restaurant-Style Taco Meat Seasoning

Tastes just like a popular restaurant’s seasoning mix for beef tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States