Taco Salad II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2008
I loved this and my 2 1/2 year old gobbled it down. I added black beans and olives and it was fantastic. The only thing it you really have to add the chips right before and chill the meat so it does not get soggy. Over all we loved this!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kimberly, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
I made this for a 4th of July party today and it was a HIT! Unfortunately, I made this recipe about a year ago but accidentally gave another recipe the credit and my 5 star review. Sorry about that!! I added green onions but no onions or peppers. I also mixed iceburg and romaine (didn't have enough iceburg). Also used Catalina dressing Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEVJANE62

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wilmington, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2008
I've been making this for years and NO, do not refrigerate! Please don't forget to put in at least 1 ripe avocado, cubed and black olives. The dressing I've used for years is 1 small can tomato sauce mixed with about 1/2 cup Italian dressing or to taste. Don't pour the dressing on til the last minute. It's awesome and lighter than Ranch. Leftovers get soggy, though. Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Preshie from CA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Modesto, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2008
OH MY GOODNESS!!NEVER PUT THE LETTUCE AND CHIPS IN AND REFRIGERATE OVERNIGHT!! (Unless you like soggy chips and soggy, slimey lettuce). Do everything else ahead of time, and refrigerate, THEN toss with lettuce and chips right before serving...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: El Cajon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: May 2, 2008
I haven't had this dish in a long time and can't remember why! It's easy, a bit time consuming chopping veggies but very tasty. I followed the recipe except instead of putting raw onions in the salad I sauted in pan with meat mixture. I used the Taco Seasoning Mix recipe from this site in this recipe. My family loves ranch dressing so I used the No Mayo Ranch Dressing recipe to top the salad. Finally used a 10" tortilla to make a taco bowl. Sprayed a small glass pyrex bowl with a cooking spray and draped the tortilla over it and baked at 375 for 9 minutes. Nice presentation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
I have done this recipe twice-once with ground beef and taco seasoning and once with ground turkey with 1/2 package Taco seasoning and some garlic & onion powder. Both times it came out good. I used Romaine lettuce instead of Iceburg and didn't use any onions. I also used Catalina dressing instead of French and just plain Cheddar cheese instead of the cheese blend in the recipe. Also DO NOT refrigerate overnight, the chips would get way too soggy. I put all the toppings out buffet style and put what we each like in each individual bowl since we all like different toppings. Also, I mix the dressing in with the toppings in each bowl before adding the beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J Smith-Balkissoon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
this recipe is a must at family gatherings, it was one of the first things my husband's mom taught me how to make. we add a can of chili beans and use dorito chips on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tracy, Iowa, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
This recipe is very good but I made a few changes thanks to some of the reviews I followed. I left out the bell pepper and used a can of sliced olives instead. I also used catalina dressing and mixed a 1/4 c into the meat mixture. Instead of tortilla chips I used Nacho flavored Doritos. I kept all the vegetables seperate too so when its time to eat we can put as much as we like in our own plates. We also topped it all off with a little ranch dressing and it was VERY tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What's for dinner mom?

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2007
EXCELLENT! We did not wait until the next day to eat this. I used Taco Doritos, and Catalina dressing. I brought for lunch the next day, but was a little soggy and not as good as the night before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gianna Rose Allen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Columbus, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2007
Very good. Instead of French Dressing, I did use Catalina. I also cooked the onions in with the meat because I don't like raw onions. I also used Nacho Doritos instead of just plain tortilla chips. :) Don't add dressing, chips, and lettuce until you're ready to eat, they tend to get soggy! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Alpena, Michigan, USA
Living In: Saginaw, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Taco Salad I

See how to make a delicious taco salad with a twist.

Restaurant-Style Taco Meat Seasoning

Tastes just like a popular restaurant’s seasoning mix for beef tacos.

Taco Casserole

This cheesy, family favorite is the perfect weeknight casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States