Taco Salad II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2015
Good basic recipe. I use half pack of taco seasoning for kids and sometimes ranch dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
I think it's great, but I also added red kidney beans to the beef with the taco seasoning and I rolled the whole thing lightly in Thousand Island dressing instead of French; fabulous!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
I have been making a very similar version of this dish for decades. It was my children's favorites, and now all three serve it to their families! The only difference is that I add a small can of drained pinto beans to the salad, we use Cool Ranch or Nacho Doritos (crushed), and I add some PicoPica or Taco Bell mild sauce to the french dressing. Really jazzes up the flavor! And no, you can't refrigerate this overnight with the chips. When I take this to a potluck or other type of shared-meal event, I always wait to add the chips until I arrive, just before we eat. I usually place the dressing on the side, too. This is still a family favorite, especially in the summer, and I only gave it four stars because I think the addition of the flavored chips and adding the hot sauce into the dressing really adds to this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulare, California, USA
Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
I make a similar salad but use Catalina instead of French dressing. Although similar, the Catalina gives it a better flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
What is this Western dressing every one's talking about. Is it sold in stores? Who's it made by?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kris in FL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
I am in the catering business and I do not mix the salad though I do need to make ahead. I make it as a layered salad topped with sour cream. I top with Frito corn chips right before serving. By not mixing, you won't have a soggy mess. I've never had anyone object to it not being mixed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
Cook, drain, and chill the meat (we add a little hot sauce or picante sauce when cooking). You can also add some of the onions or peppers to the beef while cooking. We prefer mixed lettuce rather than iceberg. Although we've built the salad in a big common bowl, when enjoying at home, we don't assemble the salad in advance--put ingredients in different bowls and let each person create their salad with their preferences. Other great ingredients include rinsed beans (pinto, black, or kidney), chickpeas, olives, hot peppers, different cheeses (cheddar, Monterey jack, pepper jack, fresco, etc). Also different dressings for different tastes--I think Catalina is a classic with taco salad but others prefer Ranch or something else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TWL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mount Solon, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
Made the salad fresh and used Emily's Dressing for Taco Salad. This is a good basic recipe for Taco Salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
Always a hit. I like to use Catalina dressing and Nacho Cheese Doritos in mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
I always add Catalina along with a little Thousand Island but the rest is whatever I have on hand. There are so many different combinations of ingredients you can use for this salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Big Bay, Michigan, USA
Living In: Felch, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Taco Salad I

See how to make a delicious taco salad with a twist.

Restaurant-Style Taco Meat Seasoning

Tastes just like a popular restaurant’s seasoning mix for beef tacos.

Taco Casserole

This cheesy, family favorite is the perfect weeknight casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States