Taco Salad I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2002
I like this recipe alot because it is different, although I fix it differently than above, and this taco salad is a huge hit at all my family gatherings. My family expects it. I use Catalina dressing only, and I add Doritos to instead of plain chips (nacho flavor is the best but you can use any flavor) I also omit the sour cream and add black olives. Instead of putting the dressing with the meat, I mix it all except the dressing and the Doritos, then mix while serving so the chips don't get soggy. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
709 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LWIETHE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheeling, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2005
Omgoodness, we ate too much of this! First of all, we browned the the beef with onion and used homemade taco seasoning (Taco Seasoning I) from this site. We omitted the beans. We did add water to simmer the meat. Then we had chopped green onions, chopped tomatoes, shredded cheese, bagged, shredded lettuce, salsa and sour cream to build our taco salad. We had fritos instead of tortilla chips. I sat out the Catalina dressing so that everyone could control the amount. We used fat free sour cream, cheese and catalina dressing. We tried to make this as healthy as possible. This was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
460 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2005
I make this same recipe but I don't cook the dressing in the hamburger mixture and I omit the chili beans. I mix everything up (hamburger cooled) and pour the dressing over the salad fixings and combine - I also use crushed nacho cheese Dorito's instead of tortilla chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
372 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2005
We have made this recipe for years but the way to make it really tasty is to use Doritos instead of plain tortilla chips. It adds another dimension of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
106 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
Great fill-in dinner when my original plan didn't work out. I made my own taco seasoning and my own French dressing. I did not water down the dressing. My kids and husband ate their taco salad with the tortilla chips but I had mine with just lettuce, tomatoes, a tablespoon of reduced fat sour cream and homemade salsa. This was enjoyed by all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2002
This recipe went over really well with ALL the family. The dressing and taco mix gave it the zip it needed!! In anticipation of a big appetite, I doubled this recipe, It was so much food! Unless your feeding an army, dont double. Out of 12 in our family, only 1 did not like this. Again as some of the other reviews, I didn't add near the amount of water it called for (only about 1/2), and it made it nice and perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2002
This was so good, I would suggest adding the meat mixture to the lettuce as it is served to each individual person. I couldn't save it for another meal because the lettuce wilted and the chips went soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2005
I didnt like the combined flavor of the taco seasoning and the french dressing. I ended up throwing most of it out. Probably wont make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2003
My husband made this (amazing all by itself) for a party one summer. It was fantastic. He left out the chopped tomatoes (because I don't like them) and used nacho flavor tortilla chips and it was great. The tangy sweetness of the French dressing was a welcomed surprise. Just a delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BUNNYGRRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Temple Hills, Maryland, USA
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2004
Now this is delicious Denise. I absolutely love "Taco" anything and this was just great. I did not mix the dressing into the meat mixture..(I'm thinking it would have made it too sweet), but rather poured a little over each serving and left our the sour cream since I'm not a fan. I have made this many times and have also used corn chips versus tortilla chips and it's just as yummy. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 325) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Taco Salad I

See how to make a delicious taco salad with a twist.

Taco Casserole

This cheesy, family favorite is the perfect weeknight casserole.

Taco Soup II

A flavorful taco soup with ground beef, taco seasoning, beans, and green chiles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States