Taco Salad I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 26, 2012
I know people hate this as I do myself but I wanted to share the way I make this. I have not made this recipe so cannot really rate it. I also use doritos instead of tortilla chips, and instead of french dressing I use zesty catalina. I don't use beans, sour cream or salsa and its still good. but thats just me. I do add cucumbers and red and green peppers. I know some people said they didn't like it with the french dressing, try it with the catalina maybe you will like it better. I hope I could help, and didn't upset anyone in the process.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Chandler

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milford, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: May 20, 2012
We loved this! It was easy to fix and a tasty twist to the old taco salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burnet, Texas, USA
Living In: Tyler, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2012
I think you stole this recipe from me. I've been making this for years. Add some chopped onion and a little sliced advocado and it's perfect. Oh, and use Nacho Cheese Doritos. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
I've made taco salad before but decided to try this one because it seemed a little different with the addition of french dressing. I gave it three stars because I did make some changes. As written I would probably only give it one star. I only used 1/2 a bottle of French dressing. If I had use the whole bottle it would have been WAYYYY too much. The french dressing gives the recipe an odd sweetness. I used mild salsa because it's what I had on hand. It would have been MUCH better with medium or hot salsa. Let's see, I used black beans instead of chili beans, torn spinach and bibb lettuce instead of iceberg. I never use iceberg lettuce on ANYTHING because there are better choices out there with higher nutritional values! I layered the salad versus tossing it all together (crumbled tortilla chips, torn lettuce, meat/bean mixture, shredded cheese, salsa, chopped tomatoes, sour cream). I will stick with my original taco recipe as my family likes it better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by torianne31

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harlem, Georgia, USA
Living In: Willow Spring, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
I cooled the meat, and added 1 cup of western dressing. The fam thought is was different, but good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterloo, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2012
I make this all the time and my family of 6 loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by julz1973

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2012
Agree with the reviewer below. Too sweet. Didn't like the french dressing. I also don't like warm meat on my salad. It wilted my salad. Not going to make this again. If I do, I will completely omit the french dressing. Not necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
Made just as written and didn't care for this recipe just too sweat for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 6outof7

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clovis, California, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 5, 2012
Very good! Many of the reviews suggest not adding the chips until serving. I disagree. I crush the chips into small pieces and I think the softened chips add a great flavor and help to thicken the hamburger mixture. I do reserve chips to top with when serving to give it that extra crunch. I also prefer catalina dressing, but the french dressing works fine. I do NOT mix the lettuce into the ground beef mixture. I prefer it served on top of crisp, cool, shredded iceburg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
One word - DELISH.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gadgetgal

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 329) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Taco Salad I

See how to make a delicious taco salad with a twist.

Taco Casserole

This cheesy, family favorite is the perfect weeknight casserole.

Taco Soup II

A flavorful taco soup with ground beef, taco seasoning, beans, and green chiles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States