Taco Salad I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
Made it for a family member's Mexican food themed birthday party. It was a hit! Followed original recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
Very good recipe. I was surprised by how the french dressing blended with the taco seasoning. I'm not sure that this should be considered authentic Mexican food but good nonetheless. The only change I will make if I make it again will be to keep the meat mixture seperate from the chips/salad mixture and only mix one serving at a time. The chips and lettuce become really soggy when there are leftovers to be warmed up later (something I always have since I am usually cooking only for myself). Overall very good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2012
Love this! I make it all time except omit the beans and use Doritos. But perfect amount of everything else. I disagree with other reviews saying its too sweet. That's how its suppose to be! Great job! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2012
Very good salad,I didn't have any chili beans so I just omitted that part and I wasn't sure about the French dressing but I was loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacie Bonner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hornbeck, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2012
Very good recipe but I keep the meat on the side and everyone can add to their each individual serving. Mixing it up all together makes for not so good leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2012
sounds like taco salad that i make only we make it early and serve it cold and we use catalina dressing and i had never used the beans but i found them to be a nice addition, might try just dark red kidney beans next time but overall a good recipe with room to play
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2012
I know people hate this as I do myself but I wanted to share the way I make this. I have not made this recipe so cannot really rate it. I also use doritos instead of tortilla chips, and instead of french dressing I use zesty catalina. I don't use beans, sour cream or salsa and its still good. but thats just me. I do add cucumbers and red and green peppers. I know some people said they didn't like it with the french dressing, try it with the catalina maybe you will like it better. I hope I could help, and didn't upset anyone in the process.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Chandler

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milford, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: May 20, 2012
We loved this! It was easy to fix and a tasty twist to the old taco salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burnet, Texas, USA
Living In: Tyler, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2012
I think you stole this recipe from me. I've been making this for years. Add some chopped onion and a little sliced advocado and it's perfect. Oh, and use Nacho Cheese Doritos. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
I've made taco salad before but decided to try this one because it seemed a little different with the addition of french dressing. I gave it three stars because I did make some changes. As written I would probably only give it one star. I only used 1/2 a bottle of French dressing. If I had use the whole bottle it would have been WAYYYY too much. The french dressing gives the recipe an odd sweetness. I used mild salsa because it's what I had on hand. It would have been MUCH better with medium or hot salsa. Let's see, I used black beans instead of chili beans, torn spinach and bibb lettuce instead of iceberg. I never use iceberg lettuce on ANYTHING because there are better choices out there with higher nutritional values! I layered the salad versus tossing it all together (crumbled tortilla chips, torn lettuce, meat/bean mixture, shredded cheese, salsa, chopped tomatoes, sour cream). I will stick with my original taco recipe as my family likes it better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by torianne31

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harlem, Georgia, USA
Living In: Willow Spring, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 325) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Taco Salad I

See how to make a delicious taco salad with a twist.

Taco Casserole

This cheesy, family favorite is the perfect weeknight casserole.

Taco Soup II

A flavorful taco soup with ground beef, taco seasoning, beans, and green chiles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States